My most Embarassing moment on steemit..thus far.

in #candlelight4all6 years ago

Before I can go forth to explain my most embarrassing moment on steemit, I will like to use a few lines to explain the kind of person I am as this will help us appreciate the moment or maybe pity me a little more than I felt.

I will not say I am an introvert as that will be very far from the point but I have this first meeting syndrome where I can't find the courage to approach someone for the first time, majorly because of the fear of telling me off, snub and the likes. Maybe that explains why I am not so much the ladies man, because somehow they always expect you to make the first move which am teribbly poor at.

That said, I joined Steemit January this year that is like over 25 years of living the way in had explained the previously, and fast forward a couple of days later, just 3 days or so short of making exactly a month, I had cashed out about 10SBD and was in high spirit for the first Abuja meet-up in Nigeria.
IMG_20180326_222919.JPG
Source
Maybe due to the excitement of the messages presented and how cool and normal all these guys sounded, I felt like, well it won't be a bad idea to approach them, my inner self had adviced me against it but once the thought of the money I had cashed out flooded I didn't hesitate.

All the biggest guys on steemit who where from Nigeria were at this meet-up so gingered up I approached the one that sounded the coolest among them. At this point I should have revealed the name but I won't, for my own safety. I just said Hi, am @gjoeohere on steemit and he was like, what do I need your username for dude? Just tell me your name...or- George I had to cut in before he wounded my soul.

I thought waoh maybe that was an isolated case, so I went to the next and was like am George and he looked atbme and was like, you are a newbie right? I thought yea this one understands and I said "yes". He then replied bro don't show that too much, intros are done with your steemit username so it sticks.

I was shell shocked and humiliated, I didn't remember the next words we said after that because I was so embarrassed by their response because they just finished advicing us that networking was the way to make it on the platform, talk to people and all, and here I was trying to and they just shut me down.

That was the height for me although there are a few more snubs on Discord and all bit I think pretty much the platform is solid and has genuine people that will always make you feel good, these were just isolated cases, this has been my consolation and reason I got over them a little bit more easily and above all the motivation for joining the platform helped me a lot.

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry @gjoehere

The pleasure was mine...thanks for the opportunity

It's not funny, I have be snubbed many times and that is my reason I vowed to myself that my upvote must count, all I need is to make the less person feel the sense of belonging,
You can't imagined how I was snubbed at Abuja mega steemit meetup, I just left a sad man that very day. But definitely we must leave a good mark in steemit, and I must achieve that 500sp landmark in steemit, person must say of me "if not you, I won't have made in steemit", thanks bro, fire on.

I really appreciate your thought and commitement, its not really easy much so now that steem is depreciating, its at these point i laugh at those guys that once preached value over money, i wonder where their values are at the moment...thanks again bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55275.78
ETH 2457.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18