Test Burn Candle Review 01

in #candle6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians, I have been not frequently written on steem nowadays because I'm doing my R&D for my candles. Turned out the R&D needed more times than I anticipated. Making candle is sound easy, almost all equipment is in your kitchen however to make a good candle is the next level thing for a candle.

So here is my simplify process of making a candle.

  • Buy all the material
  • Make a candle based on youtube videos
  • Problem? Ask a question at the Chandler community to identify what I have been missing or make a mistake
  • After make the candle, there is a cure time which can up to 4 weeks.
  • Then is a test burn to determine the Hot Throw (Strong or Weak) when lit it up.


Lit up the candle, the first 30 minutes the candle looks alright but into 1-hour burn. The candle started to form a tunnel. troubleshoot time! Turn out the soy wax that I bought couldn't handle a certain percentage of the additive. Took me some times to figure this out because self learns does take a lot of time.


Another candle​, I lit this candle for about an hour. It looks alright, even pool (🆗), no dancing flame (🆗), no black smoke (🆗) and do you know what the problem? The candle has a very weak hot throw. 😭 There are three possibilities​ here, used the wrong wicks, the fragrance oil didn't blend well into the wax & lastly the fragrance oil problem.


First glance, you can see the wicks is not in the center and yes that on me. Despite wicks not being in the center, it is still burning​ well. The pool burn end to end but then 1 problem, the hot throw is weak due to I added the fragrance oil at the high temperature. 😬


Above all, this even pool looks best, however,​ the fire is too big therefore created​ a​ quite big pool. Facing the same problem too, the cold throw and hot throw is weak.

I will continue to​ update my progress of making candle here. If you're a chandler, I would love to connect with you!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @joannewong!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.668 which ranks you at #481 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 477).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 197 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65