CANCER FUND FUNDED BY STEEMIT? A christmas Challenge - A/B Test #1 Results in article.

in #cancer7 years ago (edited)

edit Number 1 - so far, 2 likes, no views.

Well, I am adding a nice frilly picture... No, maybe a nice baby picture?
image.png

Maybe that will get people to read a real life story about someone that we could help.

**Stage 4 cancer. **

I am wondering if I will even get a comment. - YEP #firstcomment goes to @golum84

Is all of my spreading of the word of "steemit" really just another thing my older brother (mentioned in article) will look back at in a year and say "I told you so...no dough for you!

Especially if it isn't even going to someones wallet so they can buy a new car or some worthless xmas present for someone who already has enough...

That is Steves newborn child.

Won't have a father perhaps after this xmas.

If somone were to use this novel new platform to FUND A FUNDRAISER to help a man that is suffering in the most seious of ways...

OR at the very least we could help to top up the childs school fund which is going to medical bills?

So, the original picture ( I snagged a screenshot of this "B" test - You can learn these things in one of my articles already. Yeah, in a book called "the lean startup".

I am going to do an ABCDEFGHIJKLMP test and keep putting this up in different forms and formats until someone realises that it is a real thing. So I sent Steve the link this morning.

I hope he reads it.. Maybe puts a bookmark there and then he too can watch the generosity of the steemit community.

A/B test #1 - initial results with shitty picture (2 votes...one was mine so I don't count the three >there.)
I was not super clear about the cause as I was actually answering a call out to attend a place were people get together to discuss how to get people funding for CAUSES!
There will be a running record of what I have written and changed and done.
ie. attach this article to every post I put up and insert into every other article a link to the fund that people can vote on once I have this all set up.
be sure to ask directly for votes and comments! PLEASE PUT AT LEAST A COMMENT THAT YOU READ THIS in the comments if you got this far:)

# At this point, I am just going to run a tally of all the money that comes in on my posts tagged #stevievfund

this section will be my idea board and also a spot to put peoples names and accounts that have at least reached out to ask me if this is legit or not.
here is something I am seeing a lot : image.png

I also put in some guilt language. That might work.
image.png

Re: https://steemit.com/eos-project/@officialfuzzy/beyondbitcoin-rsvp-whaletank-hangout-232-or-2017-11-11-or-sat-200pm-utc-or-over-325-usdbd-in-awards#@sirlunchthehost/re-officialfuzzy-beyondbitcoin-rsvp-whaletank-hangout-232-or-2017-11-11-or-sat-200pm-utc-or-over-325-usdbd-in-awards-20171110t171429499z

Project/Topic Name/News Piece - Stevie V Fund (First challenge to raise money -> name the fund!

Who is Stevie V and Why does he mean so much to me?

I know he is super nice guy for one.

They have fundraiser started already officially, but I thought this would be THE ULTIMATE test of whether or not the steem platform can do what people say it can.

Now its time to put votes where your keyboard is. You know...your money where your mouth is?

Or is everyone to busy clicking on their "cash out" button because, they are actually broke except for on the wallet in the platform it looks like they have all this money. hmmm, you can't tell until you test it out right?

# Let me tell you a short story:

On Aug 3rd, 2015, I think, It was a really great but shitty day for me.

See, I had been sleeping under a trailer for the last 2.5 days.

It was nearing the end of a beautiful summer and when I woke up, I was dry and warm, but outside it was really wet and there were branches fallen down all around me.

Well, they were all around the trailer.

It's not there now, the trailer: I am going to go and take some pictures...and, over the course of the fundraiser, I will post up more portions of the story, and, if Steve agrees, I am going to interview him.

It's not there, because the trailer was sitting on a job "prep" site for a large condo project right here:

Well, that's a little depiction of a typical day I would spend while I was working at Billy Bishop Airport on Toronto Island ( So many great pictures from there...I am going to reach out to a few people that I used to work there with to participate on this #stevievfund !)

Well, I can fill in all the details, but lets just say, I used to spend a lot of time at the Fox and the Fiddle for the entire year I was living at Cityplace at 11 Brunel on the 53 floor (it was at the time, the tallest freestanding condo in The GTA (that's what we call the "greater toronto area" here in Ontario Canada.

Stevie V would be standing outside the Fox on most THurs, friday, sat nights.

Kinda like me when I worked the door down in Toronto when I was in University taking Kinesiology/Health science. 1997! WHOOOOO!

I didn't drink back then.
I didn't smoke back then.
I didn't smoke weed back then.
I didn't even drink cofee back then.

I just took..well, that is for another time and its part of the articles I am going to write that will serve two purposes during the fundraiser:

Yeah, Stage 4 cancer can be a big pill to swallow.

He has it way worse than I ever did.

Come to think of it, why the heck have I not been doing stuff like this earlier?

You know, helping guys like Stevie?

I mean, he used to talk to me and I don't think he realises the impact that just knowing I had one place where I could go and just talk to another person that was a human being, no ajenda, nobody judging me for where I was (where I appeared to be...people can look down and out..but that does not mean that they are not at the cusp of greatness...in their own lifes journey) but rather, just always a smile and conversation...and who knows how many people this man has effected as he spent all those days on the door, doing the same thing to complete strangers night after nght as he kept the peace in a peaceful way each and every day so that people could go and "detress" after work or, just get drunk in peace while they knew he was standing there and that it was ok to take your own guard down.

I needed that then. SO, this may appear to be about me, but its just like setting a scene in a book or a movie. Without a good story to drive it...like HOW DID I EVEN MEET THIS GUY?

Maybe he remembers more than I do...perhaps we will find out. ..

where was I? oh yeah!

Well, I was busy recovering from a 15 year long addiction ride.

I have not written OR told that story in its entirety as its personal and private but I think this is fate.

# FATE? No such thing as coincidence?

I am not sure if you believe in fate/coincidence but, as I was going to meet this Traveller named Martin, over in Kensington Market, a hot tourist and local gathering spot in the center of Toronto. ..well, In fact, its directly north up the street called "spadina" on that map.

Well, I haven't seen Martin yet, but, there are all these buskers at the corner as its a super busy day and the last festival day of the year in Kensington.

Remind me to post the picture of the dog in the rumble seat.

I would stop and put these pictures in, but if I do, then I won't keep going...this is a super personal and private story but, this is what it takes to help others....help yourself..then help others.

I've had enough time to be lazy and now its time to start giving back.

Stevie used to talk to me and we would smoke a cig together..sometimes he would be my last stop as I was coming home from whereever I was spending my evening/afternoon/ entire day wandering around the GTA (hah! you know what that is now!) getting drunk and finally, usually, ending up speaking to stevie on a few nights before I would go home, drink myself to sleep or smoke cigarettes and watch the lights of the QEW...and that dark spot I could see that I would eventually drag all my important worldly possessions because I had spent all the money...and I had no place to go after my rent was due and well...I had decided it was time not to ask for any help this time...I just went and dragged all my shit down to the worksite (I put a little circle)...and the rest is history.

I never saw Stevie again...until I met the busker in Kensington less than 2 weeks ago...he used to work at the fox and fiddle too!

I used to love his music.

I will get some recorded and put it up. He could use a boost too and I am trying to get him and Martin to come on busy!

Martin has been travelling for SEVEN YEARS!

From Germany to...so many places.

He could raise some dough for this just with a picture donation!

ANYWAY, the musician and I had gotten along famously.

He would even let me sit beside him and sing along when I was hanging out, waiting for the next group of people to come in that would mention a "condo party' or, I would already know them from some daydrinking episode from the past months at 11 Brunel (avg age 25-35, parents money, partaaaay place) the perfect place to spend your last year as a drunk.

SO! 2 days after I meet the Musician from the Bar from 3+ years ago, I go and meet my brother down at his work.

Scotiabank - they have some dough I could tap for this project I bet! They secretly own Tangerine as well. Its like Google... all in the cloud now.

We spoke about brother stuff, me paying him back the money I owed him (never owed anyone money before in my life...I was the money lender..but, things change and you have to adapt sometimes...) and some really good stuff on bitcoin segwick as he has some crypto-investments...I am trying to get him to come on here too...maybe he will if its for a CAUSE!

The Stevie V Cause!

Because, right after my brother dissapeared into the cibc building and up the great glass elevator to his office where scotiabank leases a huge section of the building...

My phone goes "bing!"

Fb message.

I will screenshot all these messages by the way...

something like" hey eric, its Steve V...doorman

Then: fox and fiddle...

I was like "huh?!?"

"but, I was just talking to him..."

WAIT A MINUTE!

Its not him, its steve THE DOORMAN from the fiddle.

See?!

What are the chances of me running into one guy after 3.5 years and then another guy from the same spot in less than 48 hrs.

We spoke, my phone died.

That was after probably 45 min.

I plugged my phone back in.

Rode around and then tried my phone again...

"buzzer sound" aaaaaaaannnn!

No go. Phone chip is burnt out. I've had lots of phones..never had a chip burn on me.

Well, I still have no working phone.

But, you learn to not care about the minutia of life once you have been to the bottom of your own personal barrell for long enough.

No phone? pfft. No problem.

I have it back by the way... thats another story!

Well, I am on Steves FB now...and I know the whole story I told at the beginning.

He may not live.

He cannot afford the new chemo and his little infant child might not have a father.

I already said to him "Steve, its been 90 days, not 3 months. Start thinking in different terms...not how long you have etc. but how long your going to take to GET BETTER.

Stage 4 does NOT mean death.

See? Thats just one story of hope.

So, wanna help me with this one?

I have so many other projects to do..and this is going to be the start of my real 5 year plan. I have already written about that one...

Well, here is the new website I have built.

It was like I had to finish it for some reason. Maybe this post I am answering with a "post in the comments 5 miles long" will be a beginning.

OF getting a lot of shit done for others!

https://busy.org/website/@iamericmorrison/website-preview-just-for-mystemians-with-free-educational-material-just-for-you-guys

This MORNING...I just saw this post and wrote this..I am still in my long johns.

  • this was originally typed in the comments of this post and the first picture shows what happened.

First sprinkle of snow up here was today!

Xmas is coming and I want to see if we can warm up Stevie's Greek harth with some XMAS STEEM! (maybe it can be a "STEEMATHON" of some kind!)

He already has a go-fund me account: https://www.gofundme.com/j6qqa-for-my-sons-future?donorname=Genique+Baker+

I was hoping to get a steemit account for him and then, any money I make on each post that is tagged

#stevievfund

I will transfer all earings from those posts into steves go-fund-me account!

Maybe the following xmas we can do a toy-drive for kids of Cancer Survivors and Steve can get in on that!!

I have some DJ's already lined up to volunteer their time at the official fundraiser here in TORONTO.

ANYONE WANT TO COME?

In resilience, wellness and joy of LIFE

Etrain

Relevant Steemit Tag? #stevievfund

Appropriate links to share? Links to come. I also need to get a wallet set up for him.
The links will be on this site: https://www.facebook.com/Concord.CityPlace/ and also http://foxcityplace.com/
And his official go-fund-me account for those that just want to give for xmas!
https://www.gofundme.com/j6qqa-for-my-sons-future?donorname=Genique+Baker+

Steemit and/or Mumble account name of Representative/Speaker -

How should we Introduce you/your project/your news coverage? -

Fundraising for a cause - this will be my first one..and its a super unique story as well.

What is your bitshares account name? I am very new. And I don't have one. I will be available for discussion etc.

@sirlunchthehost
@officialfuzzy
@iamericmorrison

Sort:  

Vote#1 #steevivfund ( I am tagging everything i do with that tag...and any money that that tag makes me, I am putting into the go-fund-me for steve) Thank you for your vote and please resteem! #prayersareacceptedaswellasvotes !! #votesANDprayersarebest

@mindsportsio, Thank you for your support and the Upvote!

@golovini - I appreciate the support and the upvote!

@lsosorova Thanks for reading, clicking and supporting! Resteems are appreciated!

@fakhogin - Please come and vote again as we continue to strive break the $.010 barrier!

Thanks for supporting @tselins!!

@mikaello - Thank you for the support! I appreciate the click time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65