You Can Help <3

in #cancer6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-04-02 at 12.00.03.png

I am sharing the story of this beautiful loving family as a call to action. This time of the year when Passover, Easter, Novruz, and other holidays I've probably never heard of are celebrated. I love this season because it brings hope, change, and new beginnings.
While I am fortunate to be healthy and happy, I want to share an uplifting story of one man and his wife who went through a struggle and turned to be victors. Their story is a source of inspiration and a good example of how challenges should be faced.
I am asking you to support the cause. You will find all the details in the link below.
Thank you! And happy holidays!

http://pages.mwoy.org/calso/los18/mwallerste

I can’t believe that it has already been 2 years since my beautiful wife, Tamra, has been in remission from cancer. A day doesn’t go by that I am not grateful for the medical advances that kept my wife here. Fortunately,​ we have been given an opportunity to help others.

I am beyond thrilled and honored to announce my wife, Tamra Wallerstein'a, nomination for Los Angeles “Woman of the Year” in support of Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) Man & Woman of the Year Campaign. This is a 10-week friendly fundraising “competition” that raises funds in support of blood cancer research. Every dollar we raise counts as one vote towards her candidacy.

This cause is very personal to me because my wife was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma when our son was just 9 months old. As any new parent can relate to, I missed the initial signs which were​ her being tired and losing weight. She went through a tough 5 months of chemotherapy, then radiation, and then lots of therapy for her emotional well being. She had to quickly learn to balance being a new mom and owning her own business with docrtor appointments and chemo treatments. She lost all her hair after treatment and I always thought she was beautiful. Since our son was so young, he couldn't be around too many other kids while she was in treatment. My infant son’s immune system was stronger then her own immune system. The days that she had scans she couldn't be within 10 feet of our son and I saw how heartbreaking that was. Throughout everything, Tamra maintained her positive attitude and strength. She took care of herself while continuing to be thenurturer she always is to those around her. I'm so proud of Tamra for making it through this and I want to help find a cure so others don't have to experience this.

With this in mind, we have rallied a team to join our mission to giveback. Our team name is "Curing Cancer with Kindness." Our message is that when you give a donation to cancer research, it is the kindest and most impactful support you can give to cancer patients out there. When we first told our 3-year-old​ son about his mom's nomination he said, “I want to help sick people so they can get medicine. “This brought us to tears. He stated it perfectly. We have the ability to change the course and toll that cancer has on all of us by advancing our research. I remember being a child of the 90s and what an epidemic AIDS was and it is incredible to think about the advances that have been made. Imagine a future where this is that peak with cancer and we can have a scientific breakthrough​. Together we will find a cure!

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society is leading us to that cure, for more than 66 years, LLS has invested more than $1 billion to advance cancer therapies and save lives. In 1964, the five-year survival rate for children with the most commonly diagnosed pediatric leukemia was 3%. Today it is approximately 90%. Last year alone LLS had a hand in over a dozen FDA approvals for​ new cutting-edge​ blood cancer treatments. And More than 40% of new cancer therapies approved by the FDA between 2000-2015 were first approved to treat blood cancer patients. Simply stated, the funds we raise are making a tangible difference. Every dollar raised is one dollar closer to the cure.

So this is your chance to join the battle. Please help us celebrate Tamra's 2-year​ remission milestone by donating to my LLS team, doing your part in Curing Cancer with Kindness. Our goal is to raise $100,000—every $50,000 we raise can fund a research project for one full year.

I am grateful to you for your support and love and want to thank you in advance for
your donation. I invite you to join me in killing cancer with kindness. All donations are greatly appreciated and tax deductible. They'll not only support LLS research, but patient services, advocacy, public and professional education, and community services as well.

With love,
Matthew Wallerstein

Sort:  

My beautiful friend post your pictures I like your pictures you are pretty and your posts are beautiful because of you.

Thank you, Aiman!
I will post more of my pictures. I hope you also enjoy the texts.

Thanks I'll eagerly wait for your pictures my friend.

great post plz ...introduce yourself?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38