When you have the Big C in your life! - by @awgbibb

in #cancer7 years ago (edited)

I am doing this in the wrong order, I was diagnosed with Bladder Cancer in 2011 and ever since am supposed to go into a theatre every 6 months, as this is the only way it can be checked on!

After nearly 2.5 years I went back into Theatre yesterday!

After Months of mentioning ( nagging ) I finally made an appointment with Dr. George Bell , a very experienced Urologist to meet up with him at Constantia Day Clinic , over the Road from Florida Junction Shopping Centre.

BTW the Spar there is excellent and Banjheera Indian Restaraunt make the Best Bunny Chow's in our area!

Anyhow , Wayne comes Home at 12:35 am to drop Chris and I off at the Hospital before 1300 hrs.

As you would probably Guess with having dodged this for so long?, I was not really ecstatic about going there!

I am going to do a follow up on this giving the Start of this frankly unpleasant path I have had to follow since 2011

In 2015 I had to Retire from my regular employment, with not too many prospects at 68 years old, Steemit has been a life saver for me, as My Kids no longer needed to support me.

I was forced to downgrade my Medical Aid Package, and Chris's Chronic Medication is largely unpaid by them.

Saying that , we are still managing fine!

Now back to the Cancer , the only way to check this is to shove a rather large Catheter where Men would rather not have one , and through this take biopsies, send a Camera up , hopefully not the same size as they film the Marvel Movies with?

So Chris sits talking to me , eventually they give me a green Gown to change into ( not at all like the Green Goblin outfit that Spiderman fans will be familiar with?) Climb under the covers and wait.

Change beds push me into the queue outside the theatre, I am reasonably calm , remember to tell the Anesthetist to put the needle into my right arm as the veins in my left arm are not so hot since the big bike prang I had many years ago ( can send you to the posts, if you wish?)

As I leave the theatre I wake up , I am given a sandwich and some Rooibos Tea when I am back in my Bed.

Doctor Bell comes to see me, says what I really want to hear " Looks absolutely clear"! Marvelous!

Before I go I need to go Pee, which means run!, You have virtually no control for a couple of days!

Oh, I did not mention you need to sit down , you are peeing what feels like Sulphuric Acid , so you would probably pass out standing!( unless you are me , I do have Super Powers)

Anyhow , Corrie , Chris's bestie came to collect us, needless to say I barely slept, but got up early , helped Wayne take some stuff out my Studio, His Band is busy rehearsing as I write this.

Life goes on , and dodged a bullet , yet again, WhatsApped the whole Family when I got out of the clinic with the Good News.

I in no way let this affect my life and I do not expect special treatment, Everyone has their own cross to bear , I find mine pretty light to carry.

Will continue this with how it all started in a later post.

Hope You Enjoy Following one Persons Life Journey, My Friends?

Sort:  

What a relief that must have been! I've been reading a lot about how steemit has helped many steemians, nice to hear that as well as the good outcome after the cancer scare!

Wow thank you!

Glad to hear you dodged the bullet, a great victory! We never know the battles people are going through

Keep posting my friend. Your post gives hope to a lot of people who are sick and struggling because of their illnesses. Your optimisting approach is inspirational. Wish you best of luck.

Lovely post it really touched me, all I see in your words are hope hope and hope. It strengthened me, please keep it up by hope to steemit community.

My sister went through the same situation, she got through it.

It's Always hard when you hear such a news!!!!
You get scared, you procrastinate....
But everything is gonna be alright....

You will get through it

good I liked your pos you already have my vote I invite you to go through my blog and give me your opinion

https://steemit.com/@goodi

Youre such a strong person @africaunited

Nice post
Intresting blog

You are fighter my friend and fighters never lose. I hope you'll get well soon.

The way you lot at a tough situation with a high sense of humor really really got me. Am really glad you posses the strength to still see things from the bright side of life. I pray for strength through your recovery process. Never allow worry takes you away from the beauty of life. Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78