How to CANCEL SSN

in #cancel7 years ago (edited)

 Here's another way of getting rid of the SSN. The key here, I believe, is that he told them that he originally received it erroneously, since he's not a US (statutory) citizen. Here's the message he sent me earlier this month: 

"Jaro, 

First, thank you for creating this group. I believe I joined rather late, and some topics may have been discussed of which I am not aware, such as how to rid oneself of the association with an SSN. I have observed that you often refer to people to who have no SSN and do not have a zip code in the address they use. On March 10, 2010, I took a completed Form SSA-521 to a local Social Security office. I stated on the form that the benefit I was withdrawing application for was the Social Security card and number. The reason I gave for withdrawing the application was that I believed I had been harmed by the application, and also that I was never eligible for the benefit because I had never been a U.S. citizen or U.S. legal resident. I surrendered the original SSA card with the application. The clerk who assisted me took the form and the card. In a few minutes she came back and said she had shredded the card. 

I asked her for a copy of the submitted form that bore a signature from their office, which she gave to me. The signature was a stamp signature of the supervisor of that field office. I have this signed copy in my documents. I would like to know if you are aware of other steps I should take to ensure that the old SSN is terminated. Any help you can offer would be much appreciated. 

Sincerely, Joe" 


Of course what I told him, was to go to a SSA office and ask them for a letter saying that you DON'T have SSN. If you truly don't have it, they're required to give you that in writing.BTW, I don't think that you'd even need to use the SSA-521 form for this. If you tell them that the application was made by a MISTAKE, since you erroneously believed that you're a (14th Am., statutory) US citizen, then you're NOT cancelling the SSN, which SSA says can't be done, but are DISPUTING the original application, as invalid, due to a MISTAKE.  ************************** 

The statutory term Nonresident Alien Individual is defined at 26 USC §7701 (b)(1)(B) and is expressed in this statute in the following manner: [definition is available at http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/7701] "An Individual is a Nonresident Alien if such individual is neither a [statutory] citizen of the United States [District of Columbia per 26 USC §7408(d)] nor a resident [Alien or foreigner from another nation] of the United States [District of Columbia per 26 USC §7408(d)]." [Emphasis & Clarification added]     


So if you're NEITHER a citizen of the United States NOR a resident of the United States, then you're a NON-RESIDENT ALIEN, NO MATTER WHERE you live. Conversely, if you're a US citizen or resident, then you are subject to FEDERAL JURISDICTION no matter where you live.

You also gotta realize that United States (singular) means FEDERAL GOVERNMENT. Which means that UNLESS you're subject to FEDERAL JURISDICTION, you're a non-resident alien. And what is EXEMPT from federal jurisdiction? The land of ALL 50 STATES of the UNION!!! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49