A day in my life at Lagos.

in #campusconnect3 years ago (edited)

I woke up super excited on Saturday morning. I knew I was going to have so much fun because I was going for a hangout with the singles at the elevation church in Maryland.

As I woke up very early on Saturday, I jumped into my usual duty without hesitating. I did thorough cleaning in the house from sweeping and mopping, to washing the toilets, doing the laundry. When I finished all I was doing, I had my bath, dressed up, and did a little makeup so my face won't look pale. I informed my sister that I was leaving then zoomed off into the street of Lagos.

I took a bus from volks to miles 2. unlike the regular Lagos pattern, I didn't need to hustle or rush for the danfo bus.
I guess it was so because it was quite early and there are more buses than passengers.
From mile 2, I took another bus to oshodi then I moved from oshodi to the Maryland bus stop.

On getting there, I called my friend Sophie and informed her of where I was. She asked me to wait for her that she would soon be there. While waiting at the bus stop, I started taking pictures of the environment and watching how cars were obeying the traffic light rules. I was stunned at how orderly Lagos could be despite its congestion.

IMG_20210918_131624_351.jpg

It's not usually so in umuahia where I reside, every driver is always in a hurry, no one cares about traffic light which in turn affect the movements of cars in a small City like umuahia. Apart from the bad roads, I'm forced to conclude that the drivers are the reasons for constant traffic in umuahia.
While still taking pictures and feeding my eyes with the beauty of the environment,

IMG_20210918_131259_216.jpg

Sophie called and asked that I find my way to the venue with the direction she gave me. Less than 15minutes later, I got to the venue.

The TEC singles hangout was way bigger than I thought compared to the singles fellowship I attend in umuahia.
I was thankful I didn't dress casually as I would have done if it was in umuahia.

As I entered through the gate, I was checked for covid using the detecting machine, I was given sanitizer to clean my hand and a nose mask. From the gate, I was directed to the registration podium where I registered as a guest and was directed into the Hall.

On my way to the hall, I saw Sophie already waiting for me. Out of excitement, we screamed and hugged. Yea, people around were just mopping like who are these girls: the David and the Goliath. Sophie is over 6ft tall while I'm 5.5ft though I'm not so sure of my height.

Sophie's tallness made everyone notice our presence coupled with the fact that a short girl like me had nerves or confidence to walk comfortably with her without feeling intimidated.
Our picture below

IMG_20210918_130857_346.jpg

We entered the hall and we were directed to our seats. We were an hour late so we couldn't get any seats in front or the middle but at the back. Our picture is below.

Screenshot_20211002-131759.png

The karaoke session was what was ongoing while we entered and from the expression and energy of the audience watching and listening, it was very interesting and fun.

After the karaoke session, the host came up to reintroduce herself to people like me and Sophie who were just coming. After then she introduced a game called word associates.

It is a game of two teams with two players each. The moderator or the host calls out a word and each team relates it to a verse in the Bible and recites it or relates it to music and sings the song and the first team to answer it wins.

The game was quite interesting and fun, we laughed the hell out of ourselves during the game session because a team was answering off points.

IMG_20210918_110939_871.jpg

After the game session was over, an artist name Gaise was introduced to the stage. Gaise is a Yoruba Christian artist, although not so popular in Nigeria but he is well known by a good number of people in the city of Lagos. His Ministration was mind-blowing, it was a mixture of Afro Christian music and rap with Yoruba as its basic language.
Below is a picture of me vibing to one of his song.

Screenshot_20211002-131829.png

After his Ministration came another game. This time, it was a very intelligent game. You have to be very smart and a critical thinker to play the game.
The game is called the big pyramid. It involves 4 teams with two persons in a team. The first 2 team plays the game and the winner plays in the finale same as the second 2 teams.
The game is played by putting up six pyramids on the TV screen with different categories on each of the pyramids.
Each chooses any category of their choice. One player in a team explains the character displayed on the screen with actions, not words and his or her teammate puts a name to the description.
If he or she gets what his or her partner is trying to explain, it gives them one point. The team with the highest point wins. The game was quite a tough one for the teams, the audience wasn't left out too. It's was filled with so much fun.

After the game, the resident pastor was invited to the stage for a speech. Listening to speech is not something I like doing and neither do Sophie too. So we agreed to step out to use the restroom then get some food and go back to the hall.

When we were done using the restroom, we went to the food arena to get food. A plate of rice and the tiny-sized chicken was sold for 1000, yeah. That can only be possible in the city of Lagos

After eating, we bought freshly made fruit juice to take the food down.
While taking the juice, we decided to take a walk around the area and proudly take pictures. We stepped out to stroll, we stroll for Less than 15mins and we found ourselves at the Mary land mall.

We entered the mall and Sophie took me to the ice cream factory immediately. She was so excited and couldn't wait for me to have a taste of the finger-licking goodness. We bought two waffles with coffee mixed ice cream. The taste was worth licking fingers for.
The finger licking goodness below.

Screenshot_20211002-132113.png

When we were done, we took pictures, danced while people were watching us.

When we finished our tour around the mall, Sophie called a friend of hers Efe, to inform her of where she was at that moment. After their long discussion, her friend Efe asked us to take Uber to meet him @ Jara mall in Ikeja and its bills on him. We did exactly as he said and we all met at Jara mall.

Screenshot_20211002-132046.png
On our way to Jara mall at Ikeja

We exchanged pleasantries as we walked into the mall. Efe took us to an eatery inside the mall and asked us to order anything we want. It was an open check but we couldn't just order outrageously.
We both ordered Chinese fried rice with chicken and five alive pulpy drinks while efe ordered just a bottle of soft drink.

IMG_20210918_162500_755.jpg

While we were eating, Sophie and efe kept on hosting about his relationship with his ex-girlfriend and why they can't be together anymore. After spending close to 3hrs and considering the distance from Ikeja to my house. I alerted Sophie to round up their discussion. When they were done, efe gave us some money for transportation back to our destinations.

We waited at the bus stop to get a bus going in our direction but we couldn't see. We decided to use our legs. We trekked for almost an hour to get to where we could get a bus to take the bus home.
While trekking, we passed through the railway. And while we were passing, a very long train passed, I was so excited and stunned at the same that I forgot to take pictures.

To be honest, that was my first time seeing a train, I've only been seeing them on TV.

We got to the bus park and took a bus that took us home. Sophie stopped along the way while I reached the last bus stop. I took a bike that dropped me in front of my house gate.
When I got home, the kids were already asleep and my sister was about to go to bed. I went straight to the bathroom, took my bath, I couldn't eat anything that night since I was already full. I laid on my bed while pressing my phone and slept off. Indeed I had a swell time on Saturday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67