Introduction to my overlanding journals

in #camping7 years ago (edited)

I was always a very curious person and felt, the more curious I was, the more I learnt about things in general. It was this curiosity that took me on my very first overlanding trip to the outback of the land I grew up in - Africa (Botswana).

Accompanied by a good friend who shared the same level of curiosity as I did, we were completely unprepared in terms of vehicle preparation and supplies. Putting it mildly it was a complete naïve attempt. In the 500 km (310miles) we covered, what was meant to be a three-day trip turned out to be an arduous six-day trek. We had to endure so many vehicle breakdowns (I would care not to remember) and ran out of food. Our 4x4, we had bought on a shoestring budget, had seen better days and our utter ignorance of what terrains to expect in the outback did not do this old fourbie any favours​.

If I was the type to go by first impressions then this was certainly unpleasant enough to have kept me well away from the outback for the rest of my life. Yet thanks to the old adage “it’s about the journey than the destination” turned my unpleasant first experience to alife-changing​g moment that would keep me going back to the outback every opportunity I got as long as I am alive.

Despite the troublesome first venture, the breathtaking landscapes, the wild life, flora & fauna, the histories of the lands I passed through, the generosity & humility of the people I met along the way touched my heart deeply. This experience taught me that travel was not about getting to the destination as quickly as possible. I learnt it was more important to soak in every place along the way. To have a truly enriching experience, each place I travelled through, if I was to get to know it intimately, I had to expereience the people ​,the local culture, feel the smells and taste the food. To me, until I had done this, I was merely a tourist and not one with the land I was tredding on.

Over the past 25 years, since that first experience, I have done a countless number of over landing trips back in Africa. This continues since I moved continents a few years ago. A perfect way to get to know my new home - Australia.

At first I recorded my travels in a personal hand written journal as this helped me to gather all my experiences in one place for me to reminisce over as my years passed by. These became talking points when friends and family gathered. The more I talked, those around me wanted to know more. With everyone scattered all over the world, meeting to share these memories was not that easy, thus the birth of my on-line journals in the form of overlandjournals.com

I still continue to do my hand written journals as a personal keep sake. At the same time, through this blog (and my website www.overlandjournals.com) I attempt to share my journeys with not only my global friends and family ​but also those who yearn to venture outdoors.

Living in an age where our children spend more time in cyber space than the real world, I hope my journals will inspire others to spend more time experiencing the diversity of this great planet.

As I endeavour​ to share my experiences and knowledge with you, please follow me and upvote my posts.

Duncan Udawatta

overland-journals-dalhousie-1.jpg

overland-journals-dalhousie-2.jpg

overland-journals-flinders-dusk.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @overlandjournals. Welcome to steemit. We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link for the instructions on how to join https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-31-01-18-and-i-m-famous-by-proxy

Hey @choogirl Thank you so much. Would be awesome to be part of the Aussie community here.
I am relatively new to Aus. Moved here from South Africa/Botswana four years ago. I've always loved the outback and been overlanding for the past 35 years. My wife and I are now discovering our new home (South Aus). Loving the outback, it's landscape and people. So hoping to share our travels with others on Steemit.

Ok. Can you do 2 more things please.

  1. vote for ausbitbank here https://steemit.com/~witnesses
  2. give me a fun fact about yourself.

Then I'll put you on the list.

@choogirl

No worries.

Did the vote for ausbitbank

Fun fact - Love the outback, overlanding in my 4x4 and photography. In my early days, ​I travelled to the outback completely unprepared and had to survive on bread and baked beans for five whole days. Packed all the recovery and other gear​, forgot to pack the food container. Lesson learned.

Excellent. You're on my list. I'll let you know when I've done the update.

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Thanks for the welcome. Great platform here. I am all for blockchains and cryptos. That's the future and the corporates need to be dismantled.

Welcome to Steemit mate! Looking forward to your posts.
Cheers

Thanks for the welcome. I was waiting for an alternative to Facebook. Loving it here already.
Cheers

Yep, you will find a lot of people fleeing Facebook here. I'm one of them. It can be a little tough starting out here at first as it can be hard to gain traction early on, but keep persisiting and you will start gaining a following. Follow the #teamaustralia tag and make sure you join up. They are very supportive. Follow @choogirl, as she is instrumental in teamaustralia and will help you out.

Also, if you are posting travel blogs, photos etc, add them to the @steemitworldmap. @Choogirl is involved in that project too. I'm still learning, but if I can help you out in any way, just let me know.

Cheers

@atnicholson Thanks so much! That is very kind of you. I am relatively new to Aus. Moved here from South Africa/Botswana four years ago. I've always loved the outback and been overlanding for the past 35 years. My wife and I are now discovering our new home. Loving the outback, it's landscape and people. So hoping to share our travels with others on Steemit.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=overlandjournals
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=introduction-to-my-overlanding-journals


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by OverlandJournals from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love your photos. Always wanted to do a trip across Australia but I've got a young family, pets, kid at school etc. Hoping to get to do it in a few years. It must be amazing to just set out, knowing you aren't sure exactly where you'll end up. look forward to reading more posts! Welcome to TA.

Thanks so much for the welcome. When to eventually come down under, look me up. I am in the state of South Australia. The outback is our backyard :)

Hi Duncan. I have just discovered your adventures so I am a bit late replying to this intro post. Nice photo of the 4WD at camp. I will work my way through to catch up when I have time to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91