The NFL's Safety Policy at Odds with Team's Desires to Win

in #camnewton7 years ago

I am obviously not a pro football player, but I do know (from personal experience) that the potential future results of multiple concussions are seizures, memory loss, etc. Watching what occurred in the Saints/Panthers game yesterday was painful to the eye. I can’t imagine how painful it was to endure.

In case you haven’t heard, Cam Newton took a hit to the head after being turned around while evading a player. He was visibly hurt and turned to run to the sidelines. He couldn’t make it and fell to his feet.

Four minutes later, he was back on the field. After the loss, he claimed the pain from being poked in his eye – a dubious claim after watching the replay.

I probably would act just like Cam Newton and other players, wanting to get back on the field. But one thing is clear: the NFL’s policies and proclamations of safety are in conflict with the team's desires to win.

Certainly, Newton has the summer off to recover and he/they have the right to put him back in the game. My point is I just wonder what the long-term effects are going to be for Newton’s health and the bottom line of the NFL.

No matter what, I hate to see a player stumbling like that and then be back on the field in 4 mins time.

cam newton.jpg

Sort:  

I agree, and that is why I just can't support the NFL anymore. I've boycotted for like 4 years now, but still hate to hear of these stories. I like Cam, he seems like a good guy, but the wear and tear on the body just doesn't seem worth it. Thanks for sharing.

I haven't walked away yet, but I can't celebrate the big hit anymore and will not celebrate seeing a player rush back onto the field.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68