It's Khmer New Year In Cambodia & The People Are So Peaceful & Happy When They Celebrate! 🎉

in #cambodia6 years ago

It's Khmer New Year in Cambodia and there is a noticeably different vibe from other countries. The Khmer New Year is known in the Khmer language as Choul Chanm Themy and apparently means literally: "Enter New Year". That makes sense and like many parts of Asia the Khmer calander is based on a Lunar calculation.

These important Lunar days have been part of our communal history for aeons.

Screen Shot 2018-04-19 at 7.15.21 PM.png

Khmer New Year

The Khmer New Year coincides with the end of the planting season in Camabodia and signals a rest for farmers after the farming season, before the monsoon rains arrive. As is cultural all over the world and extremely important during New Year is that people travel cross country to see their family members and gather together to enjoy each other's company! 🎉

Here in Cambodia like many places this celebration process involves drinking, dancing, eating, laughing and the playing together of all generations. The laughter I have heard from all ages in the last few days in Cambodia has been truly infectious and delightful! 😉

The New Years celebrations seem to be going on for days, well over the official new year and have not ended yet!

I have seen so many random parties in every conceivable nook. Families gathering on the beach and dancing by the river... Groups of young people singing karaoke loudly under the palm trees and the rising sun at 9am, clearly after an all night session! Good for them! 😝

Because of its tragic past Cambodia is a land of young people with most people younger than middle age! There seems to be very little concern about blasting amplified music whenever anyone wants. People just accept it and share the tolerance around. We could all use a bit more of this!

Screen Shot 2018-04-19 at 7.13.07 PM.png

The Biggest Difference - Everyone Seems Super Happy & No Fighting!

What has struck me during my time in Cambodia is how placid everyone seems to be. I have seen Cambodian's drink beer for days but have rarely heard an argument and never seen a physical confrontation between Cambodians. This does not match Cambodia's tragic history and is a striking anomaly to my eyes.

A similar amount of all night drinking in a western country would soon lead to serious disturbances. I have seen other Asian's getting into fights from drinking too much but not so here in Cambodia! I am sure they do occur but I have not seen one.

So here's to Cambodian New Year - One of the most chilled New Years I have ever witnessed! Cheers! 🐴

Screen Shot 2018-04-19 at 7.12.48 PM.png


Image sources: 1, 2, 3.


Jockey loves you All & Plants as Medicine! 😉
Jockey votes 4: @teamsteem, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @timcliff, @drakos.


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

Sort:  

Great article! I'm glad hearing that it's so peaceful country (after such a tragic history). I'm dreaming to visit this beautiful country one day!

Followed and UPvoted! You will enjoy it here if you get here! 😀

Cambodia's history is such a rough one. It's beautiful to hear that there is so much peace and celebration among the people now...

Great comment! I can't reconcile what happened with the Cambodian people I know. I'm still trying to understand that one and the more I think about it the more I'm distressed. Followed and UPvoted with pleasure! 😀 Love the pony avitar by the way! 🐴

Wow. I really enjoyed reading your post about Cambodia. So beautiful and the people are so peaceful and loving even after the tragic history.
I really have learned a lot from it and so thank you so much for sharing it with us. Following you my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44