Tuk Tuk from the hostel.

in #cambodia7 years ago (edited)

Blog 5

Sabadee, Okay, one tuk tuk from the hostel to the bus station in Vang Vieng. One mini-bus from Vang Vieng to Vientiane. One sleeper bus ( haven't got a clue why they are called that) I was at the back and sometimes getting serious airtime.The rest of the time I was just getting gently pummelled. Comparable to a massage from an anxious sumo wrestler). from Vientiane to Pakse. 

One mini bus from Pakse to Aintgotaclue (really, I don't know what it was called) One boat from Aint-got-a-clue to Don Det (Don Dhet). after being awake for approximately thirty five hours, I finally fell asleep, with my clothes on and Jimi Hendrix playing through the computer and slept heavily through until 7.30am this morning. I'm staying at the 'Easygo backpackers' on Don Det (Don Dhet). It's the sister hostel to Easygo in Vang Vieng. Both are super chilled and both are the cheapest place to stay. Usually works that way. So I got right up. I slipped on my t-shirt and shorts (nothing else needed, not even sandals) and did my first 'tour de Don det' Try saying that if you can't speak. The island is about 1km across and about 3km long. That's just a rough guess. Stop being lazy, google it. Then tell me. 'They' say it takes about 2 1/2 hours to walk around the island. I did it in about 4 hours walking like an Aussie from Darwin. Lots of hopefully good photos and video. My first port of call was a riverside shack for a Laotian black coffee. Sufficiently energised by the sublte coffee high, I hit the road...well, path.....well, narrow dirt track. You see the occasional moped pass by but the main transport is bicycle or foot. I prefer foot, it's about the right speed for this island. Walking barefoot slows you down even more and is the ideal speed around here.

Speechless.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44