Video Games Huh?

in #callofduty7 years ago

https   account.xbox.com en us Profile xr socialtwistnav activetab main 3amaintab3.png

I've been playing video games since I can remember. The very first was this little paddle game my grandma had to keep my cousin Tony and I out of her hair. Yellow with black knobs. I think it was tennis, but I am still not sure. We were the almost oldest cousins. I say that because the oldest ones were girls and since she was old fashioned, they got to help in the kitchen. A few months later, she got an atari with the corded joystick paddles for us and we fell in love with that! The second game I ever played though, was a game called 'Number Munchers' on the old green screens in our school's computer lab. I was hooked, I had finally found something that keep up with my brain.

The Console Evolution

Video Games have come a long way since I was a kid. Before my parents bought me a home console, all I played were computer games and since I was one of those brainiac types...I had quite a bit more time in our new computer lab than most. Looking back, I should've become a hacker, but all the coding was boring and I just wanted to have fun. Oregon Trail was another of those I played on the green screen before the Macs came out, then Pool of Radiance just blew my mind. It was like Dungeons and Dragons but without all the paperwork. In this post though, I want to focus on the home consoles. We can get into PC, arcade and handhelds another time.

Pre-MMO

remember these.png

Video games have always been a release for me and probably always will be. The very first home console I ever got was when I was 10. My parents bought my brother and I the NES (Nintendo Entertainment System) for Christmas. It came with 2 games and were on the same cartridge. Super Mario Bros and Duck Hunt. It was the coolest thing ever. I played hours upon hours of both of them. Got a new game every month. I remember one of my friends birthday parties that next year, and he got Final Fantasy. That was, by far, the best game that ever hit the NES save Tecmo Bowl. I followed that game around from console to console. But the speed on Sonic the Hedgehog...I had to get a Genesis. Final Fantasy came to another console a few years later called Playstation...and that's where I met Diablo. I played that so many times, mainly because I could customize different characters. And then, the online PC world blended with the console community...

Online Gaming

online.png

When Playstation 2 came out, I didn't care about gaming online. I just wanted to play my Final Fantasy series'. Then one day, my brother said, "I just bought this game on Xbox, you have to come play with me. It was called Baulder's Gate. We played that for 2 days straight, no sleep, beating it 3 times with the characters they gave us and unlocked the hidden one after the highest difficulty. From then on, it was all Xbox and to this day, it's still my favorite. Especially after my beloved Elder Scrolls transferred to the platform. Yes, I like RPG's.

Believe it or not, it was my son about 6 years ago that actually got me into the MMOs. He just loved the shooter games. Borderlands had just come out on 360 and he was like Dad, you gotta play this with me. We've played every one since and I liked it so much, I signed up for Xbox Live and played with people around the world. Another game he introduced me to was Fallout and Call of Duty. Been a fan of both ever since. If anyone out there is like me, they are probably waiting to play COD: WWII, where we go back to boots on the ground! I like them all, so that's not a major issue for me, but I played the beta and the graphics were tits! You see my gamer tag up there in that first picture. If you wanna get stomped on by the clan I head up - Bi0Digital - (Bi0) then come find us tonight!

Sort:  

If you played forever you sure know Age of Empires? Ever played it?
I started an steemit-tournament for this classic RTS game!

Will this be Voobly or Steam based? Judging by your name I can only assume :)

Maybe you want to post in one of my posts? Don't want to hijack here too much ;)

Oh, an expert ;)
For now the tournaments will be based on the gaming platform STEAM. If we get to a higher amount of players we will possibly switch to voobly later. But for now I want to keep it as simple as possible.

But if to players agree to play their matches on voobly I am also fine with it. However voobly is not a must-have yet!

I am watching Ali-A's COD WW2 campaign walkthrough video while reading your post. Lol. I used to play COD competitively so yeah, I guess you can say I was addicted. Do I regret all those hours playing? Not really.... :P They were a lot of fun!

rsz_motivation_1.jpg

Wikkid awesome.

Well you know I love games. I am an Xbox fan as well but I could just never get into the COD's. I know tons of people who play em though and like them just fine. Cool to know you have pretty much always like games though, me too. I remember Oregon Trail, that game was pretty cool back then, although they made us play it for school.

Ha ha right on doll! You ever go to the arcade?

I love the arcade. Used to go as a kid and now I take my daughter to the bowling alley that has one. It is so super fun.

Hecks ya! Ever play Gauntlet?

Nah can't say I did

If only I liked Xbox... Then I could jump on with you. Maybe if they ever do cross platform.

They NEED TO omg, could you imagine the response? Crash the servers lol

It would be worse than that Xmas there was a ddos

Yes I am also to much addicted for games firstly I play mobile games after that I started playing on PS2 ps3 ps4 play station that was amazing experience my favourate game is good of war I am gonna resteem your post really like it thanks

GoW was the shit!

God of War was pretty good! Was fun slaughtering all those big beasts!

I was fortunate to play some even older systems xD I played a little black ops/zombies with others-- it was fun LOL

Right on, zombies is fun!


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 21.31 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @enginewitty.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

I am also fond of video games but play on my ipad only. Never ventured onto a console. Nut i guess that would be real fun. But it's too addictive so dont wanna get into it :) . Upvoted and following u as always.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

Addictive lol very true.

I bought every Call of Duty from Modern Warfare on and I really liked the series as well. The last one I truly enjoyed was Ghosts. There was a fun campaign and multiplayer, but the real fun for my wife and myself was in the extinction mode. It was what I had been looking for everytime I played a game of zombies, a horde mode of sorts that can be beaten. All the while the futuristic aspects weren't insane like newer games. Once the COD franchise started introducing exo suits and robots I lost all interest in playing the campaigns. I wanted to play COD for relative realism and I would play Halo for futuristic aspects. I only played half of each game I bought after that. I always knew the games were a money grab releasing one every year, but at this point I decided unless something changed I wouldn't buy anymore. My wife did buy me Infinite Warfare last Christmas which I installed only to play the remastered version of Modern Warfare 2 and then delete Infinite Warfare after I realized I didn't need it to play Modern Warfare 2. I may rent WW2 someday, but for now I am done with the series. I hope you continue to have fun with them.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.01 % upvote from @bellyrub.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38