You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Official Announcement - Steem fork will be called "Calibrae"; DNS will be calibr.ae

in #calibrae7 years ago

Not sure but will see in the future, if it works well done if it doesn't good exercise :)

Sort:  

Exactly! Even if I don't get anywhere, I am learning so much, even already in day 1 of my process I have learned that even when both versions say GCC 5.4.1, the subversion can be such a difference that one compiles and the other bugs out! I want to slap the Ubuntu devs for this dumb error, but it is illuminating my own work.

There's like this BS I don't want to learn LOL! I went to BI analyst from being a programmer, tired of learning API's which change all the time and don't teach you anything useful.

It's absolutely going to be an ironclad rule of Calibrae, that API changes require really solid reasons. It is best to treat APIs like immutable values, like tuples. You can add to them, but you can't change them. This allows people to keep legacy code working while permitting improvements. When the old API needs to be rebooted, then you need to also develop a roadmap for migration, or you should just leave it the hell alone.

It's the fastest way to lose developers in Open Source projects, switching around API's. Programmers hate having to relearn stuff for no good reason.

An API should stay the same yes, the fundamentals underneath can therefore change.

I was talking about iOS.. That went very fast...

ah, ok. Well, the changes I bumped into with this porting process I was doing, were handling boundary conditions. I think compiler coders can be a bit wishy-washy about these things.

Especially when it comes to such a poorly specified and complex grammar as is used in C++. This is one of the reasons why a simple, and consistent grammar is always important in a language. It can be very hard to learn languages that have complex grammars. Human or otherwise. Bulgarian has such fuckery in its verb mutations. I still hardly know which way to express tenses and persons in non-present forms.

I was outraged when I was in highschool at the lack of Grammar in the English syllabus. Basically, if you ever wondered why most people barely speak better than a 13 year old, it was when I was 14 that they stopped teaching us any new grammar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88