You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Progress Report for Calibrae: Universal binary build in pprocess and initial wiki page up with most basic changes described and specified

in #calibrae7 years ago

Yes, we will be testing it before we roll it out to get the numbers right. 24 seems like a reasonable amount to start with, but maybe it should be 32 or 48.

Sort:  

I am going to start counting ..the upvote I gave you and this comment count as 2 .. see how many I have already done just on your post lol..sounds fun to try .. :)

It's a great exercise, I think. When we get it running in the testnet we will need a lot of people with different ways of interacting, and we will figure out what is typical and what is the range.

It isn't gonna be a hard, simple limitation, think of a fuel tank, that fills up to a certain amount, and when you use it, it depletes it. The tank can fill up to a certain amount, if you do nothing for a week, or so, and then it can't fill any further. It will take a little tuning to get it right, but once we know what is reasonable for humans, we can use this as a way to stop bots and spammers, because their behaviour is outside human parameters.

Bear in mind I'm a very casual Steemit user and I don't concern myself with what actually happens under the hood when I click stuff... Could Calibrae allow users to 'refill' their tank from their own spendable funds if they go through their share of the reward pool too fast? I know users can always send transactions but that's a clumsy interface compared to a simple upvote.

I have been thinking about it more, and there is actually a bandwidth system hidden inside Steemit, but I think it is too generous, I have never seen it low enough to stop my activity. It should, really, and I should see it. Have a look at this:

Don't you think that bar should be in the interface at the top to tell me how much I have left? You can see, because I have a small account, that I have consumed quite a bit of my bandwidth. I am looking at this again, and I think it simply needs to be exposed, and some proper user testing done to see what real humans actually need in terms of bandwidth, because bots can use far more than this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43