Behind the scenes with my favourite hockey team

in #calgaryflames6 years ago (edited)

The Calgary Flames are my favourite NHL hockey team.

(I realize I'm probably setting myself up for ridicule with that statement.)

About a month ago, when the Flames were in the thick of the NHL playoff race, I purchased front-row tickets to the Calgary Flames v.s. Columbus Blue Jackets game on Thursday, March 29. At the time, I figured that the game would probably have huge playoff implications. Then the Flames went on a terrible run (they've lost their last seven games) and Thursday's game lost most of its relevance.

Obviously, I was disappointed that I dished out so much money on tickets to an almost meaningless game (which they ended up losing 5-1); however, a friend of mine who works for NHL.com stepped up to make the day quite a bit better.

On Thursday morning, he invited me to the Saddledome to watch the players' morning skate.

image2 (1).jpeg

(Several Columbus Blue Jackets take part in Thursday's optional morning skate. Columbus is currently third in the Metropolitan Division, and will likely make playoffs.)

After arriving at the 'Dome, we went through the media entrance where there were several well-known commentators and correspondents who cover the Calgary Flames. My friend introduced me to several of these people and then I sat up in the stands to watch both teams optional practices.

image3.jpeg

(Calgary Flames head coach Glen Gulutzan addresses media prior to Thursday's game.)

After the Flames wrapped up their morning skate, I followed my friend to the hallway by the teams' dressing rooms while he and several other journalists waited for the opportunity to interview the players and coaches. Since the Calgary Flames have officially been eliminated from playoff contention, many reporters were asking how the team plans to motivate itself for the remainder of the schedule.

image1 (5).jpeg

The morning was an awesome experience, and it gave me a taste of what it'd be like to be a sports reporter, covering my favourite team.

Later that night I returned with a couple other friends to the Saddledome, and we watched Columbus extend the Flames' losing streak with a 5-1 win. The result was disappointing, but overall, it was an incredible day!

Sort:  

Cool stuff. I love the NHL and Calgary Flames are awesome! I love the pictures :)

Thanks!

It’s too bad the Flames tanked in the last month of the season, but there’s always next year I guess!

@wadepaterson,

The result was disappointing.

I'm verry sorry for hear above news coz you're such a big fan of Calgary Flames of NHL hokey teams. But surely Calgary Flames will win without any discussion. Don't worry and be patience in fact. Very cool images and interesting to see day schedule in 29th March.
Nice you decided to share steemit. Have a nice day.

I'm enjoying with reading your post @wadepaterson. Every game has one part of loss and won part of win. So we have to be patience. But participate is a greatest thing forever. Calagary Flames is a best skillful players indeed hokey team. They can recover soon. I'm a big fan of Ice hokey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85