Secret Ingredient

in #cakes6 years ago (edited)

Secret ingredient

During my undergraduate days, as a full time student and part time entrepreneur, I take some cake orders per week to sustain myself before "allawee" comes from home.


Phone Gallery

Flashback to when I had a major caking disaster! The client already paid me a week to delivery (vital information). I got all the ingredients I needed for that particular recipe and used my profit to get some handouts in school.

Fast forward to baking day which was a night to the collection date (I don't sell from the shelf - fresh cakes only). Till today I can not specifically say what got into me: awakening of my baking genius or my village people. I decided to try out a new recipe I had learnt, yes before you chastise me, I was wrong, with the client's cake.

Yeah, it's time to bake, I was so excited. I felt my adrenaline pumping furiously as I measured out my wet ingredients and weighed out the dry ones. I double checked to ensure I had all I needed especially my "secret new ingredient" for the yummy cake!

Tararara pururupu tintintinrintinrin, I kept humming as I mixed. The thrill of a new baking style that I was about to unveil made me giddy.

15 minutes later, my batter was in the oven. Hallelujah! I can't wait to show the world the latest discovery in the baking industry! Glory!

What's that glorious smell I perceive? My, my, the cake is ready!!!! With all excitement I rushed to the oven to bring out the "newest addition to the world of yumminess".

Oh what sadness, what disappointment as I saw my creation. It would probably pass as a pancake. Apparently, my secret ingredient deflated my batter. What to do now? I already spent, no, utilized the money.

I quickly mixed another round of batter, this time without my secret ingredient and set to bake hoping that by a stroke of luck, my client will be late for pick up. Many thanks to the sugar fairies because the client came late and I was ready for him.

Lesson learnt in a very unpleasant way. Of course, no one has to tell me, I never experimented on a client's cake since that narrow escape. I couldn't take a picture of that cake but here is another of my throwback cakes.

Bookoons

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88