The shop is closed, but business is booming!

in #cake7 years ago

IMG_3946.PNGIMG_3947.PNG
One week ago tomorrow I closed the door to our bakery. Being a small business owner in a big business world is so hard. Our custom cakes have been a life saver lately. When I made the decision to close the bakery for walk in business I wasn't sure what the future would hold. We had nothing on the books for his weekend.
Friday night I received a message from a return customer who wanted some cupcakes arranged like an engagement ring. I made them Saturday and they were picked up Saturday evening before the party.
Saturday as I was leaving the bakery, rent is paid until the 10th of next month, I had a lady walk up in a frenzy. She had forgot her husbands birthday. He has a stroke and has been incapacitated for about 6 months and her time has been spent caring for his needs. I told her I had no doubt I could put something together for her before Sunday, his Birthday. She said before the strike he loved to fish. I made her a very special cake for her husband and when she came in to pick it up SHE CRIED.
I usually don't dwell on the past or what could have been, but closing the bakery scared me to death. That's my livelihood. Without batting an eye I told her this cake was my gift to her, for being such a wonderful wife. Now, had I been worried about paying rent or my power bill or even wondering where my supplies were coming from for the next days case items.
I have never felt so good about a cake! I think this is all going the direction I had hoped from day one.

Sort:  

A really lovely story. I feel for you over the bakery closure, it really is a hard world. However, I am a cup half full person and believe that something good always happens to good people. Just hang in there. X

Thank you so much! I'm with you on the cup half full outlook. I really believe there is a reason for everything and that everything happens for a reason. I am always looking for an opportunity to serve/help and know I'll be able to fill my time and help people anytime I can.

Good look, you never know what is around the corner. There is no other alternative....be positive! X

Wishing you all the best!
Following you

Thank you so much. I love the gif 💕💕

closed one door open windows for new opportunities ! upvoted

Yes! That's how I see it too. 💕

I am so sorry you had to close your buissness, your cakes look amazing!

Such a touching story and so kind of you to give the cake as a gift clearly your such a caring person

I wish you all the best and that orders keep coming in

That is such a wonderful story! (about giving the cake to the man who had a stroke, not your bakery closing. That is sad.) Hoping for the best for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47