The Worm's Progression

in #cad6 years ago

Today, with absolutely nothing better to do, I decided to play around with presentations in Autodesk Inventor 2019, something I've never done before! What does this mean, and why am I so excited?! I can start making VIDEOS! So, below are some screenshots of my various iterations of the worm drive I've been working on.

Worm drive basic profile.PNG
This is a profile view of the original worm drive (after I fixed it, that is).

Worm drive 2-lead profile.PNG
This is a 2-lead version of the same drive - the worm now has two leads, but the gear still has 48 teeth. The teeth, of course, are made to match the lead of the worm screw. The ratio is now 1:24

Worm drive 3-lead profile.PNG
This is a 3-lead version with yet more changes. The chord length and pitch are both identical, but the pressure angle has been changed to 55 degrees. Since the pitch diameter of the gear has been reduced by 50%, it has only 24 teeth. With the three leads on the worm, the ratio is now 1:8

Below is how I coloured the last version for its video:
Worm drive 3-lead preview.PNG

You'll see another post with the actual video link when I can actually get DTube to work. It keep telling me that I need to upload a snap - and I have, one which I took using its own snap function! I'll figure something out, I always do...

Sort:  

Again with the typos! The PROFILE angle is 55 degrees - the PRESSURE angle is 27.5 degrees, or exactly HALF the profile angle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85