You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌸 Desert.plants.passion / Spring flowers (4)

in #cactus6 years ago

Wow, thank you! I guess this will be mu mission for this summer. Find the right soil and repot the babies :)
So basically the more stones and other kind of pebbles the better. I have been mixing some regular shop-bought soil with perlite and lots of sand for them.

"a small one where I kept about 700 species" - wow!!

Sort:  

Yes, the more stones the better, but not any kind of stones. Nor any kind of sand. Perlite is ok. Just read that link, that guy really understood the point of cacti soil.
The shop-bought soil is the worse for cacti. Only young seedlings will appreciate it, for the rest use just anything else. Heavy clay is also not recommended.
Oh yes, I did manage to tuck them in, but was collecting only small growing species. Yet this year I'm sawing some columnar cacti. Now I have enough space :)

Yes, I read to that part that if we don't know what to use... more stones is better than more organic material. That is already a great tip (looking towards one baby that probably rotted).

I have 2 columnar cacti. But I prefer the smaller ones and the barrel ones that can grow to massive sizes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49