My cabin in the woods

in #cabin8 years ago (edited)

In the summer of 2014 I was reading a book on a little rock outcrop in the shade of a cedar thicket. It was such a quiet spot that I thought it would be the perfect place for a small cabin. Something cozy for over night stays, afternoon hammock time or to just get of the rain for a bit.


In the fall I finished up the design and started hauling materials up the hill. I had a stack of shipping pallets and so I used those to build a deck.

Once in a while my wife, friend, or other relative would come out to help on a weekend. Things were finished up by spring and it was ready for camping or just chillin'.

Since early 2015 I've stayed in it a dozen times and my wife and dogs have joined for five or so trips. On cool nights it warms up well with a small propane heater. On other days I raise up the wall panel and just enjoy the serenity.


For more details you can check out the build blog: palletbuilding.blogspot.com

Sort:  

Hey Ken! Welcome to Steemit! You should do an #introduceyourself post as well so people can get to know you.

Thanks again for inviting us to pick blackberries this past weekend. The kids had a blast! Your little cabin is amazing and they are already asking when we can go camp there. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10