Sort:  

90% difference from one day to the next. I get what their aim was in doing it but I am not willing to put my computing power to their team now with that much of a cut. I quit the byteball team and joined the gridcoin. It is not as nice as byteball earnings since you only get paid when you stake a block so it requires a healthy number of GRC to start with. I have a few hundred GRC and the wallet says 353 days till stake so it seems that I need a few thousand to actually stake somewhat regularly.

I'm hoping that the byteball team reverses their decision since I would presume they just lost a large number of people "mining" for the team. For now though I am on the gridcoin side and will see if this is at all worth it once I can get a couple thousand more GRC in my wallet.

It is not as nice as byteball earnings since you only get paid when you stake a block so it requires a healthy number of GRC to start with...

The solution is to use a pool, I think there are two operative now, one of them is working for quite a long time and has great support and feedback.

Will look into the pools next week when I have more time. Just going to save some electricity for now.

Posted using Partiko Android

I started out pool mining, I think most Gridcoin miners do, I went solo after a few months of collecting the pool rewards.
I set up a Gridcoin wallet and transferred my pool earnings to it until I had enough balance to stake a reward within approximately 30 days then went solo.
BOINC research rewards do time out eventually, I think you have 6 months to stake before losing rewards so being part of a pool is a good way to build up an initial balance while the pool regularly stakes research rewards on your behalf.
If you already have other crypto-currency or want to invest $ then you can bypass the pool mining stage by purchasing GRC through a crypto-currency marketplace.
If you don't care about having BOINC credits in your own name then you could continue using the pool mining services for as long as it suit you.

Thanks heaps for your input, I am thinking the same. Been swamped so only getting to this now. Will look into gridcoin and see if it will suit me. I'll be surprised if byteball reverse this, as I understand it isn't an inflationary currency and payments were being made out of their projects reserves.

Gotta go learn about gridcoin now.

Posted using Partiko Android

From my experience this new adjustment makes the payout on par with Gridcoin's. I think Byteball is shifting distribution strategies towards application development, which is probably a good idea. I've entered their use-a-thon which could be a good start for you too.

GRC through competition, not through reduction though.

I'll have a look at gridcoin when I have some spare time, but for now I have turned my XMR mining back on. As for the "use-a-thon" i have absolutely zero skill as a programmer or developer so it does me no good.

Posted using Partiko Android

In case you are using GPUs only for XMR mining, why don't you run both XMR mining and WCG crunching concurrently because WCG only support CPUs.

Besides there is a fundamental difference in underlying philosophy, WCG crunching advances science while XMR mining is 'just' generating heat.

Yeah, I definitely prefer the wcg philosophy over POW mining in general. Have turned XMR back off, my pc isn't good enough to get anything decent. Thanks for your input.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @jk6276!

You just got a 2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36