Byteball Referral Theft at blockchain level

in #byteball6 years ago (edited)

Byteball developers, please help! This is quite serious. Scammers will be relentless to get this free money.

It isn't only public posted addresses being stolen. It appears that it is a bot script scanning the blockchain explorer that is being used to scam and steal the referral bonus. These culpable accounts should be frozen and deleted.

Capture+_2018-07-20-18-12-40.png

Here are the facts: I helped setup @healthy-home for a byteball account. I told no one on Steemit or anywhere outside of my friend's house. As soon as the Single Address wallet was created, another friend, @public-eye, sent the referral fee. 5 seconds to 1 minute later a second referral came in. How?? From where? The Recieve address had not been posted ANYWHERE!!! Fortunately, the referral bonus still went to @public-eye. Yay!!!

Now ......my turn! I was just on the edge of Rep 60, so I bought a vote from @buildawhale that pushed me up and over to 60.005. Thank you very much!!!

Ok.... Ready to go. I got on the phone with @public-eye and told him when to send. He did....49200 bytes. Again...just like before, 1 minute or less later a second transfer of 49,689 came in from: 4K5OLXLUT3GZJHV666EIXRFNTLCQD5O and Z (last letter broken so idiots dont tip this account by accident).
Less than 1 minute later ANOTHER transfer of 49,689 came in from 6D44BZPHZWHSY3GUYIPVENLJLNDGH2Q and W (broken again...see above).

Capture+_2018-07-20-18-09-54.png

I had not published this address anywhere. I JUST created the single address wallet minutes earlier...how are these bots doing this? Scanning/monitering the blockchain I am guessing!!!

What is worse... 35 minutes in, @public-eye has yet to receive any referral bonus. Does a larger transfer override a smaller one???? @public-eye was the one that had told me about Byteball and he and I had an agreement.... Did he just get screwed out of the referral bonus???


This is a SERIOUS problem!!! If Byteball is to be taken seriously they should investigate this occurance and deal with it in a fair manner and at a code level.

This is much worse than @themarkymark thought. It isnt just finding publicly published addresses and grabbing the referral that way. This is a spider crawling the block explorer and flat out PICKPOCKETING referrals!! Much more sinister and advanced than @themarkymark first believed HERE!!!

Look...the issue here is that scammers are benefitting and profiting from a poorly designed airdrop. It is causing frustration and upset and hurt.

This can't be what Byteball meant to give to the Steemit community. But can they fix it? Can they make it right??

Hopefully this post get's seen.


Loving all you wonderful Steemians out there. Lets not less this set us back or lose heart. Keep Steeming on!

Peace

em3_blue.png
DQmb1Rtf12khtkDMx67EZcXttnYBXiNKu3aQBZFV2oCjmFK.gif

Sort:  

I don't really understand this, but I hope that you solve it soon.
|/,,

For anyone that IS NOT signed up yet....here is my referral link. If you use it the scammers CANNOT steal the referral. I will reward everyone in Steem and or upvotes and or delegated SP that uses my referral link. Peace

https://steem-byteball.org/#4QRA2NKKP24REVM3PKI5Y2LMRKXSGVZF

I got it at last!!

Thanks! I hope you got my thank you fine! :-D

Whoooh. That took a while really. Lol

I hope to do this with you.

Let me see if it works
hmschlkidz

It is two hours in and still no referral commission.

I went ahead and sent 1000 bytes as a shot in the dark to try and top off my original transfer of 49,200. But I am sure one of the scammers has already received the commission. Thanks @tarmo888 for explaining that. Wish I knew this earlier!

Awwwwwww....sorry to see this happened to you. That is terrible.

Yeah, I don't know if will pick you as referral then if you send 2 transactions and neither of the inputs cover the 49 000 + 588. If the person who did the attestation got their fee then probably the scammers have already got it too.

In case of that example of 49 200 bytes and 49 689, I think first one didn't get the referral because 49 200 is not enough to do the attestation, the attestation fee is 49 000, but the transaction cost is something like 588 bytes, so you would need to send at least 49 588 bytes to do the attestation and if someone input fits better then it will take that one (or something like that).

People are little bit confused about the Byte sizes, so I wrote this post to explain
https://busy.org/@tarmo888/how-many-gbytes-is-20-dollars-and-how-many-steem-users-can-get-byteball-rewards

If that is the case, that really sucks.

I wish I had known that hours ago. And either way... if the scammers hadn't been there, we would have figured it out on our own.

It is really low on their part. Sad.

Just a followup. There was no solution. The scammer scanned the blockchain in real time and stole the referral. Nothing was done to resolve the matter as far as I can tell. At least, not retrospectively. They may have fixed things moving forward. But so far as I heard, the culprit got off with thousands, scott free.

Thousands of bytes or thousands of referrals? Anyway. That is really crummy. Good thing it wasn't real money from your bank account or anything!!

Yeah. No cool that scammers can cheat so horribly

Yeah, if there is free money then there is always scammers that's why fair distribution is one of the hardest thing to do and most cryptocurrencies just do ICOs.

It makes more sense to have a purely referral link based system with a referral code identifier.

Yep!!

I am trying this right now.

Gotta get to rep 45. Can u help??

I am trying to boost you up. You may need to comment a bit more!!!

Thank you. I think it will take a while!!! But it is fun to keep trying!!

Oh my..... It seems it will take forever. So crazy. My rep moves slowly now. I remember it used to move up fast

Well. I am halfway there.
Byteball, here we come!!!

Very close now @em3 can you help me out to the end? You get the referral of course!

We did it!!!!! Yay!!!!

It really took longer than I thought. But it's done now.

Hey, I have been meaning to thank you for the upvotes and talk to you about Steem Monsters. Do you think they are a good idea, etc?? anyway look for me on Steem Chat sometime.

Thx

Okay. I saw your message, but you werent on anymore. We'll follow through there. Thanks and no problem!!!!

Sigh ye good luck with getting that referral! I sent about 10 total attestation fees not 1 commission paid. I addressed with original poster no response. I sent my referral link to my sister @buckaroo and Dad @quailbreeder and one or two others and did however receive com. It would have been nice to get the attestation fee com too though as they promised, but grateful for the free cash I did however receive. I guess the part that burns is not receiving what is promised free or not, and little back up service and follow up comment responses may have been nice. Who knows maybe had I have got some decent service I may have or orchestrated a big investment in their crypto? By Alas. Shot for this bud. ta ta.. Cheer$;)

Yeah...true.

I think they did underestimate what would happen. Maybe rushed into it. It is hard to be exuberant for the coin with this experience. But in the scheme of things.... They just gave out 10's of thousands of dollars worth of crypto. That is amazing and awe inspiring.

Peace

Crypto issuch a weird thing anyway. I honestly can't say that I truly understand it yet

True bud, as I said I am grateful totally, but what is promised must be delivered otherwise one does have that aspect of sour taste left in ones mouth. None the less I started with 40$ odd another $40 in a year and with referrals that were honored and crypto markets slightly up I am now on $77 in a week, nothing to be scoffed at. One question the Smart Contract the other 50% is tied up in, will that be released as for example mine $40 todays value or Appreciated value based on crypto price? Any ideas? Cheer$;)

Apparently , There is a Malware in The Original program in built.
A Virus program found. ( something like Trojan )

What?! Is there a reputable article about this yet?

Yep I got screwed on 2 of them. One was posted on chain, so I understand that was snipped. The second was on DM on Discord?!?! It sucks and Im done working on it.

Yeah....frustrating it.

It was a super generous airdrop.... But the frustration overshadows that. Quite the shame!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74