DEATH OF LORD BYRON

in #byron7 years ago

Lord_Byron_on_his_Death-bed_c._1826.jpg

Today in the US the Drumpf administration if ramming a vicious "health care" scheme down our throats. Untold numbers of people will die. Which got me thinking this morning of Lord Byron. You'll be questioning my leap but I often reference Byron, being somewhat of a Byron scholar. The man was essentially murdered by catastrophic doctoring, having been bled until he lapsed into a coma. I imagine he would view our inhumane "health care plan" with some trepidation.

Here is a poem I wrote a while back - it's from Byron's point of view. Hope you enjoy:

BYRON'S GHOST RECALLS A DREAM

I knew the place --
had been there once before
but couldn't quite recall
the village blanketed
with such a pall
as cloaked it now.
But then when last I lingered
in the vicinity of Missolonghi
I'd been disadvantaged
by mortality.
I saw a barren room
above the noisome swamp,
an anteroom -- a warrior
weeping on his shirt sleeve.
Even war it seemed must wait
while someone grieved.
Beside the rumpled bed
a bag of coin
to meet some poor
beleaguered servant's pay --
death leaves no end of disarray.

From bodiless advantage
every detail sprang to life --
the flaking white wash on the wall,
a pistol hidden from its owner,
a wool capote fallen to the floor,
a soup dish full of blood
upon the side board cooling
like a Christmas pudding.
I didn't waste a backward glance
to the former intimate acquaintance
sleeping late upon the lean camp bed --
I didn't feel the need.
What could be said was said
at our last meeting.
He made no comment at my leaving
but just kept on dreaming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49