Writing Contest : Thieving Little Scums

in #bycolemancontest7 years ago (edited)

This piece of poetry is an entry to #bycolemancontest


Source

Pretty little dress with a doll to match,
That isn't that life that was in the catch,
It is a different canvas altogether,
One that holds the brush and strokes of grime, dirt and hunger.

They call us thieves and scums,
But all we wanted was to hunt for crumbs,
Our childhood stolen by poverty and destitution,
We roam the streets seeking for salvation.

The nights were mercilessly cold,
Where warmth is not in the fold,
We have never been told,
In warmth of covers of stories of fairies and pirates seeking gold.


Source

I once peeked through a window to a sight,
A fireplace that crackles and a family in laughter,
Tears trickled down and silent sobbing I fought,
A life I so long but isn't one here after.

An empty stomach didn't pervade the dream,
Dream to have love, shelter and warmth in theme,
We want, we crave and we desire,
But, it is nothing but an empty hall to a choir.

The cravings are becoming frail,
When we are reminded that our life's on the rail,
The suffering and hardship is real,
Time to end the dream and cut a real deal.

We are afterall, the Children of the Streets.


Source



credit to @zomagic

perennial.gif

Sort:  

This is sad... Life is sometimes just not fair... but then that's life... Hopefully there's more we can do to get more children off the streets...

it is sad...its is always about running away from abuse, exploitation and beating hunger

Nice post bro..

Tq my friend

Yes, you are welcome.
Please my vote frind

nice bro..interesting and maybe can make a song too...another post in steem-music then.. :)

Good job, nice poem :)

If someone can do the song would be nice...it will be a sad song though

Well said @perennial, beautiful poem. This is an amazing entry... I hope, you’ll win the contest....

F4EE3D6C-42F6-42F2-8FE9-21DFD8944E37.gif

Thanks u abgmie....its poem craze at the moment for me now.

wow that was lovely!! really touched my heart!! great post bro!!

That meant a lot...coz the contest says must be heart wrenching...so i tried.

it really is..good work!!

Very heart felt, I understand poetry much better when words rhyme with each other.
I was also clearly able to put myself in the shoes of those poor children, this reminds me of how fortunate I am to have a roof over my head and food in the kitchen. Sometimes we should stop and think of what we have and how lucky we are.

Yup u are right. Its always gratitude and counting blessings that makes us human. I have food in my stomach i am luckier than the starving lot.

Wow amazing poem, beautifully written!

Thank you @joanneandjulia...suddenly had the urge to do poetry this morning.

This feels emotional, raw, yet also contemplative and observational. I appreciate how you are using the narrative to make the reader aware of the plight of the unseen, and the voices of the unheard.

It's certainly not way, @perennial, but you are shining light on the forgotten; so important.

thanks for the detailed observation. I try to deliver it the best I can and no better subject than our children that are neglected.

Well crafted masterpiece! Hope to hear from you more

thanks...been a while since I craft a new poem.

A nice and well written poetry @perennial. All the best for the contest

thanks karin...haven't seen you around for a while. how have you been keeping up?

I'm doing good @perennial. Thanks for enquiring. Looking forward to work closely with you and @sireh for the upcoming MyJuniors event

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65