Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover.

in #by8 years ago

Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover.

Why do people feel the need to judge someone they don’t even know? Do you
think the world would be as intriguing and unique if we were all exactly alike? I h
onestly
love seeing so many colors, and different fashions the world has to offer. I always love
going to downtown Olympia.
It’s
such a diverse and interesting place. There are many
vivid areas and people just enjoying their lives where no one is telling th
em what to
wear or how to act
.
I don’t think people realize how much other people have going on in
their lives. I say, “Until you’ve walked a mile in their shoes, you can never truly know
them”. This I believe: You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.
For
instance one of the most important people in my life is my grandma. She
was beautiful and taught me so much about respecting other. She was mentally
handicapped. My whole life she has made me realize that there is so much more to a
person than what you w
ear, what you look like, and where you come from. In my
opinion, that stuff shouldn’t define you. My grandma was intelligent, caring, and one of
the most accepting people in the world. And that is why she is beautiful to me, not
because of her favorite glo
ssy pink lipstick she would always wear, not because of her
pretty floral dresses, but because she was herself. When she died, I wanted her to look
down at me and see me following in her footsteps, and helping people realize that
people aren’t always as ha
ppy as they seem on the outside, and looks aren’t the only
important thing in a person.
People always assume since I have a smile on my face, I’m happy. Well that’s
not always the case. Of course I’m not always happy, I have problems. We all do.
People s
houldn’t be so quick to judge, when you know you have your own insecurities. I
know how hard and how much it sucks to be teased about what I’m most insecure
about!
During freshman year, I attended Challenge day. Its where a group of high
schoolers came t
ogether and really got to know one another outside of school and all
judgment
was set aside. The scariest part was being put into groups of five, not knowing
most of your group members. The silence was overwhelming, all you could hear was
the sniffles and
the sound of people pulling tissues out of their boxes. There was a girl
in my group I had known since I was in 4th grade. She is pretty, rich, and I thought she
had it all. Little did I know, her dad took his life when she was only 12. I couldn’t help bu
t
tear up because I was so shocked. It really made me take a step back and realize
people are not always as perfect as they seem. She may have pretty blue eyes and
perfect straight teeth with a perfect smile, but that doesn’t mean she is happy. And this
is
why I think judging someone just based on how they appear is pointless.
I have always wondered how much easier life would be if we didn’t see someone
as ugly, pretty, skinny, or fat. As if, imperfections were completely normal. I love being
able to like s
omeone just based off their personality. This I believe: Don’t judge a book
by its cover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50