Water reflections: Black and white photo contest entries 1 and 2

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago

Phillip Island Reflections


These two photos were taken at different areas of Phillip Island, which is famous for its Fairy Penguins that come up to shore each evening in the hundreds. I went to the Island in winter, which meant there weren't many tourists around. I could just wander and take photos at my own pace.

2018-01-30 17.49.22.jpg
Rhyll Reflection
This part of the Island, a small fishing town called Rhyll, is named after Rhyl, a British holiday resort in North Wales, was recommended by the receptionist at the motel I stayed at. I was surprised by the mirror effect of the water there. What made it more special was the mangrove.

2018-01-30_05-41-31.jpg
Churchill Island Reflection
On Churchill Island, which is connected to Phillip Island by a bridge, you can find the first England garden in Victoria. This small pond is located near the information centre.

The first photo was taken with my Samsung Galaxy and the second was taken with my Canon 7D. These are my entries to the Black and white photo contesthosted by @daveks. The theme is reflections.

@snooway

Sort:  

That first photo is incredible. Seriously, I'd get that framed if I could. Everything about it works - lighting, composition, tones. The clouds really make pop as well.

Thanks so much. It looks even better in color because the sky was so blue that day.

You'll have to post the colour ones now, so I can do a comparison. But I can imagine it to some degree, as the rich b&w tone of the sky shows through.

11063674_10153515153671264_5705529036485284317_n.jpg

Thank you :)
And I see what you mean.

Very good shots. We did a very long road trip through Oz almost 2 years ago now, sadly had to pass by Phillip Island, though a friend had recommended the penguin show, due to time issues. Glad you could show me this. And later saw the penguins on video - not the same but OK. You can check out my Oz posts (and Tahiti and NZ, also part of the trip), on #steemitworldmap or by starting here - https://steemit.com/travel/@brightongreg/roadtrip-revisited-planning-the-90-day-tahiti-australia-new-zealand-roadtrip.

Thanks. I think the penguins are worth seeing! Hope you can come back to visit Phillip Island.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73