B&W Photo Contest - Travel - Entry #1 - Skagway, AlaskasteemCreated with Sketch.

This is my first entry for this week's B&W Photo Contest - Travel:
brought to us by @daveks
sponsored by @papa-pepper
with guest judge @sweetsssj
Thank you all for all you do to enrich the Steemit community!

A few years back I took a cruise to Alaska. Of course, this state is known for it's amazing scenery which I have hundreds of photo that simply don't do it justice. Nonetheless, this shot is one of my favorites from the entire trip and Skagway was my most enjoyable place to explore...hiking part of the Yukon Trail and getting to do a little river rafting. There were excellent tour guides here that shared great information and personal stories. FUN FACT THAT STUCK WITH ME...Did you know that there are no facilities in Skagway for women to have babies...they have to go to Juneau for their last trimester. Yikes!

Anyway, back to the photo I am submitting. I shot this right after we got off the boat. The goal of the cruise line is for you to spend all of your money in the shops near the docking place because THEY OWN A MAJORITY OF THE SHOPS!!! Capitalism at its best! They even have seminars on the boat to help you find the best deals...aren't they so helpful? ;)

Ok...focus, Sam...back to the photo! This building was obviously not owned by the cruise line, isn't it cool?...so textural! I took the shot from a funky angle and caught this funky gal walking by. I really love the bell shape that her skirt is making. I just wanted to know about her and who she was talking to on the phone. Life in Skagway is not for the faint at heart so I am certain she had stories to tell. But, alas, I didn't take the time to interview her because I was on a tight schedule and nature was calling my name.

I hope in enjoy this little slice of Skagway history as much as I do!


©S.A.M., 2012 (Some Artistic Musings / Samantha J. Barnes)

Shot with a Canon PowerShot S5 IS

Previously posted in:
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008940904112
https://www.facebook.com/someartisticmusings/
https://www.instagram.com/samanthajbarnes/

Click here if you would like details on this contest: https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@daveks/b-and-w-photo-contest-new-theme-announcement-travel

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by samanthajbarnes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Such an awesome image and a great read about it
I didn't know that about cruise lines and shops maybe since I know I will never get my wife on a cruise ship LOL

This woman no doubt would have been so interesting to talk to

But all of us seeing this photo will imagine our own story for her

Thanks, Jay! The cruise was great for us because once we docked, we got as far away from the port city as possible. :)

I should add to my post a challenge to all the writers out there to come up with a story about my funky lady.

That's what I always used to do when traveling get out and see the real sites not those made for visitors or seen by most people

Well that was notveverywhere some places I went to it wasn't safe to go far

As for a story for the lady story writing is not my forte

:)

That kind of writing is not my forte either. The picture that you took of that worker sleeping on the street would be another great story to tell. We should start a challenge...we provide the pics and the writers write. :)

Love that idea

We should do it

Great! I have no idea how to go about that. :D

Me either let's give it some thought

oh really you visited Alaska ?? envy you Samantha !
the knowledge about Alaska is coming from my childhood from the Jack London books - i read everything what he wrote and what was possible to find in the Soviet Union public library. thank you for the beam of light from there !

I did indeed. You should go but make sure you give yourself plenty of time...the state is so huge. I only got to see a tiny bit and on the cruise line's schedule. I never read any of Jack London's books, maybe I should crack one open. I think I have a copy of "White Fang" around here somewhere. Funny you should say beam of light...I was going to add something to my post about it being such a cloudy, day. ;)

Thank you for your comment!

one day maybe i will arrive there and will go by the routes of his books. sounds like even after 150 years i have to be very good prepared for this adventure :-)
you're very welcome Samantha !

That sounds like a fantastic and meaningful trip but yes...it is still a very wild place.

Beautiful capture and great story behind it! Upvoted.

Thank you so much for your vote and kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47