B&W Photo Contest - Journey through Tower Bridge

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago (edited)

Journey through Tower Bridge



Journey through Tower Bridge.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!


Categorybwphotocontest
Settings15 sec | f/16 | ISO 100 | 10mm
CameraCanon EOS 7D
LensTamron 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5
LocationTower Bridge, London, England

This was quite a fun shot and part of my calculation for the shutter speed was to count the seconds that the traffic took to get from beside me to the traffic lights in the distance, it worked out at 15 seconds.

I felt that the traffic trails needed to be high in the image for a better composition so I waited for a bus to go by. There were a couple of miss fires due to the traffic stopping, but it was worth the wait. I like the look I get due to the wet weather. It wasn't raining when I took the shot and I wonder what the rain would look like in such a long exposure, must try it sometime.

The main reason this shot works better in monochrome is because the light pollution renders the sky a muddy brown, so here's a tip if you would like to try a shot like this in colour.

Take your shot a little after sunset and shoot while there is still colour in the sky, you should have about up to an hour after sunset before the muddy brown light pollution kicks in. I've done this and it still looks dark and the sky is a vibrant dark blue, see the image below I shot with a fish eye lens.

Traffic is go.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

Thanks for reading

Richee

Website https://www.richeewilson.com/
Instagram

Sort:  

Stunning photos! I appreciate reading your tips, well done. resteemed

Thank you :)

It looks truly amazing in B&W! 8)
Definitely worth of the first place in the contest!

Many thanks for the vote and resteem, love your ARTZONE entry, the one with the puddle reflection in St Petersburg.

You are welcome! Your work is what I want to strive for as an amateur in photography. I am very pleased that you liked my photo too! 8)

I take that as a huge compliment, thanks very much, you're a gent.

You are welcome! :-)

Thank you :)

Both versions are wonderful. However the blackandwhite looks more dramatic.

Thanks, it was the contest that made me consider it in mono, was pleasantly surprised that it worked well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, definitely the black-and-white one looks better to mee too :)

Yep, when I look at the colour one now, I think the colour saturation is too much.

Yes, maybe, but it's also the crop of the black-and-white ... and it's a different angle, isn't it?

It's pretty much shot from the same position and obviously the bw is landscape orientation. I was looking for fish eye compositions having recently bought the lens at the time, I agree, the bw shot is better.

First I thought the b&w is a crop - on the display I was looking it was hard to compare the two images. Now on the big monitor I see what you are telling me, and maybe the colored fish is a bit too fishy too ;)

Yeah, it stinks. lol ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81