Stormy Silouette - bwphotocontest - silouette's

I shot this photo during a nighttime thunderstorm at red rock crossing on Oak Creek in Sedona, Arizona. The photo was taken with a Pentax 6x7 medium format film camera using a 90 to 180 zoom lens. It was a long exposure probably ten to fifteen minutes. Its difficult and risky getting this type of shot without getting wet.

silouette black and white 8+x10.jpg

Sort:  

This really looks superb and like the scene after the thunderstorm.

Thanks rocksg, to me it has a very special effect.

wow looks impresssive did you camp out to get this shot Paul ? : )

Hi harj, how you doing? I live about a quarter mile from this location, aside from that its a matter of watch the radar and watch the sky and be ready to go quick. Michael

I didn't take this shot, my father did. Heh. Glad you like it though. It's a pretty dope shot!

im good Mic just busy with work stuff/steemit. Michael do you take apoly with you on your trips? sounds like a great time out. would love to see the great outdoors : ) thanks x

Yes we did many exciting photo shoots together, unfortunately I can't do it any more because I am afflicted with progressive FSH muscular dystrophy. But I do have almost 20 years of images to share.

That's wonderful that you have this collection of photography to share. How are you coping with FSH Md. Did you have it in your youth ? Hope Paul can find away to make it happen again he is super smart strong : ) thanks for sharing Mic X

Yes it started affecting me in my late teens but I was unaware at that time but then it finally became noticeable there was something wrong during my early thirties and has progressed off and on since. I just turned 63 so the last 30 years have been wonderful but challenging. It helps to realize that other people are far more worse off than me and that I still have a quality joyful life.

Thank you for sharing your life Mic, thanks for that. Yes its good to be alive and shareing to improve the human condition. How you finding Steemit Mic ? is it what Apollo said it was ? i think it can be tough but I have made new freinds.

Your welcome Harj. It is what Paul described. I find it to be rewarding, invigorating and enjoyable. Its a very purposeful use of time.

Ahh @josefinemk was talking to me about your Dad and me his photos. Ridiculous how cool they all are. Man needs to start doing expeditions and taking people out to get these shots. Too cool.

I like it! The clouds have some detail in them, but the features of the landscape are blanketed in black. In this particular photo, it works well. It's got a real ominous feel to it, which seems to be common here in the bwphotocontest. :)

Thanks, I agree it was to dark out to show any detail in the landscape but the lit up clouds and the reflection off the water gives balance to the dark areas.

A unique perspective that I definitely appreciate.

Wow, ten to fifteen minutes exposure, that's pretty amazing. I know you can get a lot of nice shots with a Digital SLR, but 15 minutes for an exposure, I wonder if it would come out that beautiful, or just a white frame.

Hey, you could not do an exposure that long during the day but its easy at night when its dark out and any light source is limited,even if your aperture is wide open. But if there is moonlight that would change the equation. The best way to learn is through experimentation. We don't have city lights here to interfere.

This is a really nice shot, great job!

Thanks so much for the nice compliment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73