B&W Photo Contest - Travel - Tiles on Roof, Sydney Opera House

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry for this theme. You've probably seen many 'tourist' photos of the iconic Opera House in Sydney, Australia, but when I visited I looked for abstract perspectives because it's such an amazing building architecturally.

opera house sydney.JPG

I didn't realize the roofs are covered with countless ceramic tiles (though I bet someone has counted them, and you can find out the number). Up close you see the pattern of the tiles, and the reflection they throw back at you of course changes with the light. It makes for great shots in colour, which is how I shot this, but I think this monochrome treatment is also interesting.

Canon EOS, standard lens, f/29, 1/1000 sec., ISO 1600, focal length 49 mm.

#bwphotocontest – organised by @daveks

Sort:  

The Sydney Opera House doesn't even come to my mind, not first when I saw the photo and not after you say it is. It's just a very good photo, the lines are great and form a striking effect of movement, it's like they are heading for the blackness in high speed.

Thanks for the feedback - glad you like the effect!

@bragih - Here's the original, taken where several of the roofs or their separate leaves intersect:

IMG_7594.JPG

Great lines and photo, but this one don't have the dynamic that is in the other one.

Yeah, it's just an ordinary shot until you play with the monochrome. Can't remember how I took it, probably almost on my back shooting up towards sky lol!

I would not call it just "ordinary shot". It's a shot that obviously can be more, ordinary shots usually cant be that, well sometimes

Wonderful shot! Difficult to imagine it being a photo!

So it's art then! Thanks so much for feedback.

Having seen your work, appreciate the feedback!

Ur welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44