Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 19

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! Happy Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 19! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects, and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and insect photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income Shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away; 1-SBI for photos and 1-SBI for art work. If no art work is submitted, 2-SBI will be given away for photos. Depending on how many entries there are, I might be able to give away more. Entries will not be judged and winners will be chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks to all for your amazing entries. The winners for Week 18 are: @nelinoeva and @omra-sky. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Drop a link to your post in the comments below to be entered in the giveaway.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here is mine for today of the Blue Damselfly

Damselflies are flying insects that are in the order Odonata and the sub order Zygoptera. There are over 2,600 species and they like to feed on small insects, flies and mosquitoes. If you see one with bright colors like this one, it is most likely to be a male.

Some people get damselflies confused with dragonflies which are in the Suborder Anisoptera. The differences are as follows:
1-Damselflies have large eyes that are widely separated while dragonflies have eyes that are close together.
2-Damselflies have thinner abdomens and hold their wings vertically together when at rest. Dragonflies have larger abdomens and hold their wings horizontally and spread apart.

This one is a different color so it is probably another species. I found it close to the blue damselfly and thought it might be the female but I read that females of the blue damselflies are brown. This one looks like it is black. I love the way they hold their abdomens out when resting.

The following photos of each damselfly gives you an idea of their size and how far away they were.

The blue damselfly was hard to spot.

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: britannica.com, insectidentification.org

This pretty butterfly gif is brought to you by @brisby. Thank you!

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  


This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider setting @steemstem as a beneficiary to your post to get a stronger support.

Please consider using the steemstem.io app to get a stronger support.

What a pleasant surprise! Thank you so much for your support and please know that I am truly grateful : )

You deserve it! Such beautiful nature blogs are an asset to Steemit, and to the STEM community :)

Aw, thanks so much for your support and kind words @agmoore2! People like you is what keeps me going and trying to improve. I sure do appreciate you! HUGS!

Thank you whatisnew! What a cool looking insect that damselfly is. Great pics as usual! :)

My pleasure Omra! Damselflies are awesome and I only see a couple a year so I was excited to get these photos. : )

Thank you @whatisnew! 😀🦋
Well spotted damselfly. I have seen blue like this one and green. I too have mistaken them for dragonflies. Now I know the difference. 😀

My pleasure @nelinoeva! Oh, I would love to see the green. Hope you can get a photo of it one day. : ) Yay! You learned something. I love it when that happens. : )

I have some old photo of green damselfy, here it is.

epwlbxed2n.jpg

Thanks for showing me my first green damselfly. Awesone! : )

I hope you’ll get a nice zoom lens for your birthday present!

HaHa! That would be great. : )

Hi @sketch.and.jam! Thanks for your entry. Looking forward to the dtube. : )

Awesome photos of the little blue dragonflies!
Those are hard to catch! I see that one looking at you!!
Happy butterfly day ❤ @whatisnew!
I finally found one lol. My butterfly entry :-)

🐞

Hi @shasta! So happy that you finally found a butterfly. Thanks for your entry. : )

My entry . I didn’t copy your blue damselfly, honest. 😂
https://steemit.com/insectpub/@redheadpei/blue-damselfly-3d8367263f1fd
126CDF6C-BB7E-4753-92A9-C3A3476D69F7.jpeg

Hi @redheadpiei! Copy cat. (only kidding!) Thanks for your entry. : )

Welcome @whatisnew. What are you posting next? I want to copy it. 😂

HaHa! My lips are sealed. Now wouldn't that be a riot if we posted the same next week. LOL!

You got a 4.67% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @whatisnew! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Lovely pictures Deb~! :) Sadly, the insects I see here are mosquitoes... 😂😭

Thanks Shei! So nice to see you and hope you are doing well. If you had these damselflies they would eat your mosquitoes. : )

Ohh... I should start keeping them as pets... jkjk~ Thanks Deb... I haven't been as active here as I used to, but I'm trying to find more free time to get back here... :)

Sounds good to me, on both counts. It just never seems to be enough time to get everything done that we want to accomplish here. Just like you told me and others...keep blooming Shei! : )

Right? priorities... hahaha.. but we can do it~! ☺ Always take care, Deb... xoxo

Howdy Butterfly! Great job on the contest and those are really good photos you got too!

Howdy @janton! Thanks so much for your kind words and support, my friend. : )

My pleasure Butterfly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66