You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Butterfly Day - Actually Pre-Butterfly Day Mourning Cloak Invasion

in #butterflyday5 years ago

I have never seen a mourning cloak caterpillar or butterfly. Your photos of the caterpillars made my day but I will be much happier when I see the butterflies. : )

Sort:  

well, we will have to wait for about 10 to 15 days depending on the temperatures. We will have a warm weekend (around 80 deg F) but temps are supposed to drop again on Monday. As soon as they start making their chrysalis, I will post more pics. They are just now mounting themselves to everything - window sills, eaves, the patio cover. Even more were emerging today. I can not tell you how excited I am to see them turn into butterflies. Just the mass number of them should be absolutely incredible.
The mourning cloak are very beautiful - a dark brown almost black with a tan trim and blue spots. This is the first year this has happened here so I am delighted. I was helping them today to get higher on the walls faster so they did not get picked off by all the birds (No one worry - the birds are very well fed without eating these little critters!)

While waiting for the butterflies, I am excited to see your photos of their chrysalis. You are so lucky. I hope it gets warm again there soon and stays warm. : )

here I made a new post because I discovered something I never knew about caterpillars!
https://steemit.com/butterfly/@four20/metamorphosis-of-a-mourning-cloak

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36