Butterfly Display at the Museum of Natural History

in #butterflyday4 years ago (edited)

Butterfly Display at the Museum of Natural History

When I visited the Museum of Natural history last week they had a butterfly room setup and some displays of Butterflies so it gave me a chance to get some shots for Butterfly day hosted by @whatisnew and that's what I will share today.

I discovered a room set up to host and show butterflies is called a lepidopterarium, and I hope I spelled it right, it was cool seeing all the butterflies but I didn't get many shots with my camera, as to have it set up to suit the butterflies it needed to be very warm and moist, which fogged up the lens of my camera, so I only took a couple of shots with my camera which I will share, but I did take quite a few with my cell phone which I may use for another post in the future.

Let me start with a shot of a live Butterfly that was in the lepidopterarium ( its a new word so I had to slip it in a second time LOL)

1 1 MONH Butterflies6.jpg

Sony A7iii 75mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Not the best of shots I know but literally I had to wipe off the lens and try and get a shot quickly before it fogged up again, plus my glasses were misty as well making it challenging and they moved so quickly from spot to spot, but i wanted to join this challenge :)

Now outside the butterfly room was some displays of Butterflies, the light wasn't great but I wanted to share some shots of them, starting with these ones with the lovely blues.

1 1 MONH Butterflies3.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



And another of the displays with a beautiful selection

1 1 MONH Butterflies.jpg

Sony A7iii 16mm F8 1/200 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And yet another and I like to say something more than just yet another but not sure what to say LOL

1 1 MONH Butterflies2.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger


So I will let the beauty of the butterflies do the talking

1 1 MONH Butterflies4.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger



And one last shot of a live butterfly, I tooka few more withmy camera but they were too fogged up to be usable, and I gave up on using the camera in the room and took shots withmy cellphone which I will share sometime

1 1 MONH Butterflies5.jpg

Sony A7iii 775mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true



!steemitworldmap 40.780938 lat -73.972551 long Museum of Natural history NYC d3scr

Sort:  

So many beautiful butterflies of all the colors of the rainbow 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks they were beautiful to see

Wow, such !DERANGED beautiful butterflies - I love these big blue ones most, but the others not much less 😊


$trdo
!BEER

Cheers its a pity I couldn’t get shots in the butterfly room due to it being so misty, but it didnt make me !DERANGED

!BEER

They would have been very beautiful too I think - the ones you shot looked really nice 🙂

!DERANGED
!BEER

Thanks kindly my if not !DERANGED !BEER sharing friend

I only wrote this to get another free !BEER from you - this is how !DERANGED I am ;) lol

LOL so you had a !DERANGED craving fr !BEER

Yes, I have to admit, I am !DERANGED addicted to virtual !BEER 🙂

deranged You just received DERANGED @tattoodjay Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!



Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @johannpiber Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @tattoodjay Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @johannpiber Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

deranged You just received DERANGED @tattoodjay Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Congratulations @johannpiber, you successfuly trended the post shared by @tattoodjay!
@tattoodjay will receive 0.39490538 TRDO & @johannpiber will get 0.26327025 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site



Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @johannpiber Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 10 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
7



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

I think you deserve some $trdo

Congratulations @pixelfan, you successfuly trended the post shared by @tattoodjay!
@tattoodjay will receive 0.47327288 TRDO & @pixelfan will get 0.31551525 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site



Hey @pixelfan, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 463.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

I like butterflies, they indicate that the place is clean and they are just like flying flowers too. :D

Yes I do agree with you

Butterflies started to interest me when working with an associate during 1990's early 2000's, our then Financial Manager was a Lepidopterist with an amazing collection. Having traveled throughout Africa carefully labeling each in his collection.

Stunned by his extensive knowledge and passion I had the privilege of visiting his home while his wife talked of the travels and seeing the gorilla's in the wild up North (in itself super exiting and interesting), he quietly explained so much about this hobby of many years.

I believe his collection is now safely in the hands of Lepidopterists’ Society of Africa where collections such as his are now being curated.

WOW what an interesting story and thanks for sharing :)

So. Another testimonial that the Met is somewhere near the coolest place on earth!

Those are just beautiful beyond all words. Seriously, thanks for sharing them!

Ohh yeah I do love the Met and was glad I made time ot visit it again, it is my favorite of the useums here without a doubt

We have a butterfly house near where I live, but I haven't been to it in years. It is one of those things that once you see it you kind of have seen it. I wasn't as into photography then as I am now, so I can see how it might be a good idea to check back! Nice shots!

I do love butterfly houses i should find where some are near here and visit them again

Thanks again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30