Lime Hawk-Moth

in #butterflyday5 years ago

20190620_123742.jpg

One morning I saw that moth at the entrance of the factory. I was in a hurry to reach the office and I did not stop to make a photo. Later at lunch time I went back and to my surprise the moth was still there. I thought it was dead. Also I thought the wings were broken, but they were rather symetrical.

20190620_123752.jpg

Let's find out what kind of moth is that, shall we?

Searching the net and it was easy to identify it - Lime Hawk-moth. Its colour resembles the bark of a tree. They are wide spread across Europe and in some places in Asia. Females are brownish while males tend to be greener. However I am not sure if this one is female or male. Although it is more brown there are some greenish parts on the wings. Besides I read that the males have upward curving abdomen which makes me think this specimen to be male. In any case I think I found an interesting moth to show for #butterflyday, hosted by @whatisnew.

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Sort:  

This butterfly is huge.. How I wish I could lay my hands on it
What a weird butterfly..

It is big one. First time I saw it. Glad you like it. :-)

What an interesting moth I don't think I have ever seen one like that

I am not sure this one can be found in America.

Maybe not I have travelled a lot and not seen them anywhere or not noticed them should I say

Wow! What an awesome moth! I bet you wouldn't be able to see it if it was on a bark of a tree. You were lucky that it stayed around for your to get photos of it and great photos they are. Thanks for sharing this interesting moth and for using #butterflyday tag. : )

Yes, I think I was lucky. Butterflies and moths are all around us, but sometimes we miss seeing them.

That’s an interesting looking moth, Neli. I thought it’s wings were broken at first.

Yeah, it has starnge wings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52