🦋 Butterfly and Insect Day

#butterflyday and Insect Day
Week ~ 46 hosted by @whatisnew

Western Conifer Seed Bug
(Pine seed bug.)

A few years back I didn't see these at all but now I do.
This one was inside my cabin.
In the Fall they like to find their way into warm places to Winter over.

20200209_200828.jpg

I did some research last night and came up with..
•They don't bite.
•They feed on the sap of developing conifer cones.
•They can potentially harm trees.
(the younger developing ones)
I have many Pine and Hemlock trees on my land.

20200209_211140.jpg

It looks quite large in the photos. This one is about an inch long.

20200209_201332.jpg

They are not native to my region. I do have a strong concerns seeing them.

Photography by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃

Sort:  

I have picked your post for my daily voting initiative! Keep it up and Steem on!

😊
Thank You very...very much..!!!!
@chitty
I shall....
🤗 Steem On...!!!!
:-D

This is a pretty leaf-footed bug and I have them too. I wouldn't worry about them unless you see an infestation. Beautiful photos as always Anne! : )

🤗🦋
Thank You...!!!!!!
@whatisnew
I haven't seen any infestation Thank goodness..🙂...!!
A couple of years ago I did have a BIG problem with carpenters ants..😖.

Howdy annephilbrick! Great shots of that thing, you have concerns because of the damage they can do to trees?

🤗 Hello..!!
@janton
Thank You...!!
I do have some concerns.
There are other insects in my region that are for more worrisome at this time that have done damage to the trees. They are not native.

Oh, that does sound serious. I hope the birds eat em all up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87