First Butterfly Egg of 2018

in #butterfly6 years ago

IMG_8981.jpg

Today was a damp, but beautiful Sunday. It's Febuary 18th, and I was pleasantly surprised with this beauty. She is a Gulf Fritillary (Agraulis vanillae), and she has laid the first egg of 2018. I barely was able to get my phone out fast enough to catch her in action. Thankfully I got it.

IMG_8986.jpg

This egg was taken into the Hatch House, and will be reared & released back into the garden. The host plant (caterpillar food) for Gulf Fritillaries are Passionflora species. This will be reared on Passionflora Incarnata alba. Because this early in the year, that is the only one that is growing. Everything else is just popping out of the ground.

IMG_2488.jpg

()

There are three other butterflies that use the same host plant here in South Texas, they are, Zebra longwing (Heliconius charithonia), Julia heliconian (Dryas iulia), and the Variegated fritillary (Euptoieta claudia). Over the next few days, I'll discuss more in detail about each of them. But today, I want to just enjoy the beauty of the first egg of 2018.
So until next time, Peace, Love, and Butterflies ✌🏼💝🦋🦋

Sort:  

@thenectarbar I love your Passion flowers they have such detailed flowers! These butterfly eggs are really I can’t wait to see more updates!

Cheers,
Robert Bailey
(aka @underthekiltfarm)

There are 100’s of Passionvines. I have 10 different types growing in my garden. This are where I propagate from.
I’m going to be talking about them & showing pictures this week. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55