You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help Monarch Butterflies By Planting Milkweed

in #butterflies5 years ago

Sometimes I think we humans are our own worst enemies! I live in a rural area where the county public works goes around the county roads and spray a herbicide to control the growth of the weeds and grass along the sides of the road. Ironically when we first moved here, the first time I saw the warnings stapled to the telephone poles and street signs, I misread it as a 'homicide' warning. (maybe I needed glasses.....or did I?) We have 5 acres that is home to more stinging nettle than I care to think about and lots of wild berry vines as there are MANY blackberry and raspberry farms around. As much as I don't like all the nettle or the berry vines on our property, we don't spray. If we want it removed, we go get a tractor. We have lots of wildlife here and lots of insects, probably because we don't spray. All that gets into our food and water systems. Maybe not the time you spray it, but with as much as is used, it has to eventually. All of this will affect not only the insects and pollinators, but eventually everything including the human race.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45