People Need to Cite Their Own WorkssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

There are many people who police SteemIt.com with the goal of protecting the system from plagiarism, spam and rewards pool abuse.

I was looking at an interesting post by Steevc

@steevc organized a flagging campaign against a user who developed a rewards harvesting scheme. The scheme involved randomly posting youtube videos with clickbait titles. The author hired a large number of bots.

In addition to the bots, the account received a large number of upvotes and comments from Steemian who mistakenly thought that the account was posting original content.

Steemians thought they were supporting a person who made videos, when they were really falling for a rewards harvesting scheme.

As the guy spent heavily on bots and was getting $20 per post.

Authors of original content on this site are usually lucky to get a dime for their work.

I applaud the flagging campaign.

One of the comments on the thread asked the pertinent question: Well how do you know if the guy created the content?

This is a big problem inherent in all social media.

It is extremely difficult to figure out who originated the content. A huge portion of what we see is copied content.

In order for the SteemIt platform to work correctly, people must cite the source of the material and describe their relation to the material.

I often hold back upvoting a post because it lacked citations.

I know this sounds like a hassle but, if you made a video, you actually need to write in your post that you made the video.

Your SteemIt post is just a blib on a screen. Readers on SteemIt don't know that you were the creator.

The best way to prove you are the creator is to link to your personal web site.

SteemIt allows us to post third party videos.

There are many good reasons to post third party videos. For example, if the police release bodycam video of the arrest, you might want to express outrage or support.

If you do this; you have to make it clear that you did not create the video and you have to explain why you posted it.

As for all of us curators. We need to scrutinize posts before we vote. Personally, I do not upvote any post that just contains a video, or that only contains a video and the blurb that accompanies the video.

I thank the steemians who take care to police the site and I thank those who take the time to research the posts that they curate.

Sort:  

I think it’s obvious that the creator is the one posting a Dtube video.

But yes, a good idea for embedded YouTube content.

Posted using Partiko iOS

As a creator of almost exclusively video content, how should we cite such content we create. I personally do not maintain a website to reference, nor do most video creators I know. I can state that it is mine, but what keeps anyone else from doing the same?

You have a d-tube; so it is obvious that you are the creator.

However, I believe that people who create youtube videos should develop a web site independent of Google.

Youtube has a nasty habit of shadow banning creators, in which case the creator has to retreat to their personal site to preserve their message.

I understand you point, but even on dtube (I'm a moderator) we see tons of people who download and re-upload content claiming it is their own and trying to reap rewards/upvotes. It's a real problem and those that are truly good at it (and there are some) are really good at copying the content of the true creators and making it look like them. It's a true problem now on almost all social media platforms.

This is the first time I shared my works on social media. All the content I created are published here alone and no other social media has that. I have yet to see someone plagiarize my content.

You have some nice work. You should consider creating your own web site some day. Once you have your own site, you will probably want to post your work on both this site and the other site.

The problem SteemIt faces is not with members plagiarizing works from other steemians. This is a small site. People who plagiarize within this site will get caught.

The problem comes from people posting works that they don't own on SteemIt.

I see you entered several contests. An underhanded person could go out to a site like artwanted.com and find millions of wonderful images. They could copy and paste an image they don't own into the contest and might win the rewards that you, an original artist, would have won.

It's not easy to win art contests here with plagiarism. I have yet to encounter a plagiarist that has attempted fraud to a contest and rewarded. The hosts are often known curators. But I get what you mean. I'll just settle for making a profile at deviantart since I'm just doing hobby illustrations.

I have seen a few people enter pictures that they did not own in minor contests. I am not sure if they won.

A person can only do a few entries that way before they are found out.

BTW: The site https://www.artwanted.com/ is also a good resource for hobby illustrations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82