You Are a Miner...

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Dear Fellow Steem People,

You are miners. You might also be a Content Creator, or a singer or a developer, but you are a miner also.

The Steem blockchain moves forward 3 seconds at a time. Each time you vote you are printing a tiny bit of Steem and you are allocating it to whomever you vote for. The stake that you currently hold determines how much you allocate.

There is a waiting period of 7 days, in which others can contest your decision; if they have enough stake. They can flag away some or all of what you allocated.

We can say we are a blogging platform and talk about content, but only the largest stakeholders can decide what we become.

Is that a good idea or not? I don't know. The theory is that those with the most to lose will be motivated to make the best decisions. It sounds great when you say that. The reality is it is only looking at one side of the equation. What if they are dumb? What if they are misguided.? What if they have other holdings that are more important to them than this one? What if they are really smart, but don't understand that money is held by emotional humans. :)

Anyway, on other platforms, no one shames the miners. No one expects anything of them, but mining. If your miner gets too slow you might consider upgrading it.

Code is law, and the law says what you vote on gets the new Steem. The rest is just human ideas.

I hope you are not offended, I just remembered this information this morning as I was worried about whether or not the game plan is a good one.

:)

You, my friends, are miners, and so am I. Get out there and mine!

@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup,
Yeah when I feel I am the miner of my STEEM, I have an awesome feeling!

Cheers~

Excellent “proof of brain” algorithm post

Posted using Partiko iOS

@whatsup
Did you finally FIGURES this out?
This is why I always trying to find the Best solutions.
Each HF are different; Hence some research are made to get the results.

What I find amazing is that a large number of staked STEEM does not even vote! While I think their stake must be respected at any one time, I would say that a consideration would be to have a phase out of the weight of those stakes if they become stale. I think EOS has a time span like three years that actually, if inactive, burns the tokens! I don’t think that is the option but it may be worth exploring something in between for the community at large forming the foundation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some whales ...

I just mined this post. 😄

Miner 49'er, reporting for duty.

This reminds me how a stupid miner I am. Early this year, I bought 4 asics without understanding the whole picture about it. Now those machines are standing by at home and made me sick everytime I see it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97