Why We Can't Have Nice Things...

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Why we can't have nice things...

https://steemit.com/@banglatech

This user posts many times a day, waits until they are 2 days old and upvotes using the bid bots.

The posts have no engagement I'm sure someone will tell me that although they can't afford to do a thing about this now it will be addressed with the downvote pool.

image.png

In one day this account received over $100 in payouts with zero engagement. He's been doing it for a while.

Yes, I know he had to pay for the posts, but how does this not devalue my investment?

This guy is also posting something like poorly transcribed quotes multiple times a day, he waits a couple of days until he will be off the radar and upvotes them with bots.

https://steemit.com/quotes/@mrsallu/one-is-loved-because-one-is-loved-no-reason-is-needed-for-loving

image.png

Will the downvote pool really help with this kind of abuse?

We can expect Steem to hold very little value until we cooperate to stop this type of behavior.

By the way, the effort I put into finding these accounts was to go to the bidbotracker and look at one round of bids on one bot.. It took me about 10 minutes.

I am not a content snob and I do not dislike the idea of the being able to purchase a vote. Without any curation or responsible bidbot owners Steem will never hold any value.

Now all the EIP promoters can assure me how this will stop after the Downvote pool. I say, only if people work on the issue.

Will it be too little too late?
@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup,
Honestly my bot SPs are not truly enough to reduce his SP, anyway I will make one to start down voting these type of people!
!trendotoken
!dramatoken

Cheers~

Sad to say but it also highlights how manipulated and meaningless the reputation metric is; while some (like me) are proud of it...

The kind of behaviour of these types of posters is the reason why a lot of folks outside the steem community turn their noses up at it. Thanks for calling them out!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have no idea about the first link you put up as I don't read a foreign language but as far as the second link if he wrote it himself it's ten times better quality then anything I've ever seen you post, if we are going by quality then I'd think you'd have to go before he does in that regard with this particular account. What about that Chbartish dude or something like that, he's on trending all the time ranking in hundreds for content similar to what this guys second link put out. I've seen him write two, three paragraphs of his supposed touchy, feel-ly stuff and rake in four hundred bucks.

Do I think people will downvote? Not a chance on your life except those who'll write the same two, three paragraph junk like CHbartist or whatever his name is and get flagged for it when CHbartist doesn't so they'll get up set and revenge flag until someone comes along with a lot of power, considers them a nuisance and flags them then places a warning that anyone responding to these post will also be flagged.

On the second link he is translating articles in some manner.

No I don't think anyone will actually downvote or not for more than a few days.

!dramatoken

For slinging an insult in. But also it made me smile. :)

An insult?...and here I thought I was being nice, an insult would have been telling you when I see your postings images of the Aflec duck fledgling around comes to mind...

giphy (3).gif

lol

Prediction: People can't be bothered to downvote and the arrival of a downvote pool will not change that.
Prediction: The proposed HF will change nothing but bot settings.
Prediction: As long as delegations and bidbots are allowed to exist, the current charade will continue.

API keys that are given freely but can be revoked when used to interfere with curation are starting to look better and better, but centralised therefore bad, of course, and not technically possible. Pffrt.

We are trying to solve problems with the same way of thinking that got us into trouble in the first place. Downvote delegation and bots, hilarious. Bots against bots, place your bets, and let the highest stake win. Pull your heads out already, so you can see the outside world laughing at you.

But while we're at it, can somebody make a repost bot that reposts all my content from the day I started posting here onwards, at a rate of 4 postings a day? The up- and downvote bots can then fight over those postings, and we can have popcorn and watch. That's entertainment; advertisers will be flocking to Steemit in droves.

Anything for a dramatoken, there is that too, of course.

I've noticed these people too. Occasionally I will go on a frenzy downvoting them. Can't wait for it to be free.
I wonder if these clowns will retaliate now that it's free?
If you can afford Internet access, you can afford to behave yourself.

My idea is for someome to just make a bot we can all give posting permission to and they can go after these fools with our combined free downvotes. Obviously they stop at 250% a day, but if it gets enough sp it may be effective.

Posted using Partiko Android

We will have 2.5 free votes a day. Mine are worth around .30 cents. So if the whales don't actually curate it solves almost nothing.

I don't care about revenge flags because if we take the profit out of this for a while these people will be gone. I can outlast them. I already DV with about 10 percent of my power.

I think you are right, bottom line is unless all the bidbots become responsible like some of them are....we have a hopeless situation. Many of the people delegating are inactive and the bid bots dont care.

Posted using Partiko Android

All those trending reward pool rapist do the same.

Look at this one, he is on spot 20 of the most payed out authors last 30 days.

https://steemit.com/@apix

This is automated, copy paste, use some templates, mix a little here and there.

Steemit is a joke... Yes it's too late...

There is someone trying to take him down,

Steemit inc's vision seems to be, milk as long as the servers are running.

But hey... keep on smiling, there is more to life...

I agree there are plenty doing it, in fact, many of the serious authors have long since
left.

Yes, I am afraid that's the case.

And why the whales are sleeping? Maybe it's all one big conspiracy? smiles

Well they certainly seem either out of this world silly or yeah.

I raised these accounts months ago and no one cares as everyone is too busy trying to get their own bit of the pie. People care enough to bring this to our attention but not enough to create a community to do anything about it. As far as I'm aware, no one has even got them to verify the Steem account owner is actually the same as the the you tube owner.
The HF won't make any difference as to stop this abuse it will still take someone with massive SP.....or is this abuse? or is this legitimate use of the system? Does no engagement mean no reward?

Posted using Partiko Android

We can pool upvotes via bidbots. Why can't we pool downvotes?
My downvote by itself will be as insignificant as before. Free downvotes dont change a thing.
The ability to delegate the downvote pool would be logical. Why are we breaking the symmetry here? It's a missed opportunity.
At least it will generate some dRama

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that is my fear as well.

I would like to know if some of the T20 brought that up. It's a logical question.
I would love to know the arguments against delegating downvotes.
Why stop halfway? It's so obviously half baked.

As much as I try to ignore this fruitless topic, it keeps luring me in from time to time.

Posted using Partiko Android

it's being discussed.

regarding the half baked... my old company went through this phase too. The guy that solved it called it...

There is never anytime to do anything right but there is always time to do it over... Except no one ever really does it over. I think it is a thing of inexperience and we are loaded with it.

I don't think that's it in this case.
Everybody is talking about delegating All The Time. Why stop now?
This is not a case of experience. It is a case of basic principles. These dudes are programmers. It takes a certain amount of logic to read and understand code.
They are able to make handy charts about payout curves.

They must be aware. Why is nobody of them adressing this issue? There are many many point for point arguments about SPS and EIP. This topic has never been talked about in public by T20.

But at least they promised us so much more manual curation.

Yes, I read your post from yesterday about that :D

Posted using Partiko Android

If we are all over in out Tribe communities his little stunt won't mean much, or if he tries it there (in the tribe ) it will be more magnified. Either way, people will less and less use Steemit.com and focus in on these niche communities and little @banglatech punk won't be doing that anymore. Although, as long as Steemit has a trending page I suspect he will.

A tribe of max 25 persona's. Do not use the buzzword communities please.

There are not lots of users left, to call it a community, or even communities.

There isn't a max of 25 users lol
Not sure where you got that from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65