The Day After Discussing a SPORK.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)


https://xkcd.com/419/

Yesterday we talked about a Spork, some people got so triggered it triggered me. :)

It was a discussion and it seems some were quite interested, some didn't know about SCOT and it's available functionality and didn't understand what I was talking about. Some were mad and offended. I consider that a win! Thank you to everyone for discussing it.

In addition to the 100 plus comments, I also received several DMs, just like the post with some strongly for and some strongly against a SPORK.

The point is you can make your own tokens now, set up any economy you want and market it to whomever you want for whatever reasons.

If you want to create a Flat Earth site and token and discuss things there you can. While your Steem earnings might get flagged away by the flat earth police your flat earth tokens would be fine.

And yes, you can work on an Economy that allows for better distribution, downvote rewards or none. It can be setup how you want to see it.

Is it odd we could all have a front end. Yeah, that would be weird, but I don't think it will come to that.

Also, some asked... Would that pull value away from Steem? The point is yes it could, but not initially and not as directly as you might think.

At this time I have no plans to immediately build SPORK, but the option is still there. It was a fun throught process and yeah, the idea is interesting.

If someone wants to invest in it and has a good enough idea, they can launch their own community,set up a distribution token and build it.

So, think about it... what does your perfect community, page and token rewards look like?

It's a great mental exercise to imagine your page, your token, and your financial incentives.

:)

@whatsup

Sort:  

wakes up abruptly

Imagine this...
does the hand gesture
... a version of STEEM without the terribly fucked distribution and completely gamed reward pool...
where the focus is actually on content and interaction instead of who can suck the most shmeckles out of the broken economy...
somewhere that people could not only earn stake in the platform, but have some kind of fucking incentive to power it up!
It's like a...
like a...
a dream...

falls back asleep

I bet you you did not know that @dan right before he left was working on a separate flagging system apart from curation. I'm paraphrasing but I can link you his own words saying so to @the-ego-is-you. Sleep on that, I truly think that it had the implications of freezing funds/accounts/revoking the ability to transact or post/comment and @ned wasn't having any of it.

I recall he was advocating for negation, basically the inverse of delegation just as downvotes are the opposite of upvotes. I actually don’t think it’s a bad idea... it’s basically just a simpler flag war! Bad actors, spammers, vote farmers (or whoever you want of course) could be countered up front vs. following them around and downvoting all their upvotes. It’d give less a feeling of “collateral damage” in the case of flag wars as third parties wouldn’t see their rewards downvoted/flagged... they simply would never have received the negated portion in the first place. Same result, different psychology, which is key as people see that pending payout as “theirs” before it truly is.

Hmm very clever, guy is really a genius, I don't think anyone else suggested such a thing, not that I know. So basically you vett so much stake against another account, and basically that account could only work with the SP it has minus what it's vetted against, correct?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, that’s exactly the system as I remember it proposed. I don’t know if there was a parameter to keep at least a minimum Resource Credit (at that time just Bandwidth) as I wouldn’t see making accounts unusable as a good thing, just nullifying stake weighted voting.

That is so simple and it's implications are so far reaching it's literally genius level suggestion. Imagine if fgt fulltimegeek and fellow fgt @berniesanders would cancel themselves out, brilliant. Tje minimum would make it redundant to go after small fish.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was totally the hand gesture that made this real for me! :)

Flat earth token .... tell me more. Maybe the distribution model can be the taking the absolute value of the Steem flag. Only those who can draw the most powerful Steem flags will receive any tokens at all. Hmmm. I need to think about this some more. Will people not flag them anymore knowing they are helping them earn flat earth tokens? 🤣

Hey! See, you've got this idea down. Nice thinking.

I was like what, people triggered over a spork?!?! Then I kept on reading ... :-D

Very funny :-) Will have to read your spork post b4 I can comment further though...

Cg

I think it is great to consider all these options and flexibility as it will only help the protocol improve over time with what the community enjoys and engages most with!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Are you pretending to be all grown up?
No drama here.
Booooring!
;)

Posted using Partiko Android

The first person who launches something unique but for everyone will win big in my opinion in where everyone starts at 0 with no whales in site. Hint! 🤔😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Whenever someone challenges the status quo, there will be some repercussion. The ones who benefit from the status quo will try to preserve it and will be upset. That is not a reason to stop. I sense that you truly what to improv things.

I still don't get how any token can have any value? I mean for fun Z's probably but you can't really do anything with it.

:)

Would you like me to do jazz hands or finger snapping so you aren't triggered further, princess?
Cool comic btw

Oh I deal okay with being triggered... I do enjoy some jazz hands though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31