I Think Publishing is a Better Steem Message Than Blogging

in #busy5 years ago

We tend to often refer to SteemIt.com and many of the other front-ends as a system of blogging platforms, but really what we are doing is publishing. Some of us write blogs, but there is more to it.

If one of Bitcoin's attractions is sending monetary value without third party intervention, then Steem does this is the form of publishing and that could be a great story to tell.

Think of publishing a book, or a song, or even news. Steem empowers people to publish directly to other people.

No publishing house, news station or other controlling intervention is required.

I wish steemit.com didn't refer to posts as blogs as that sets an expectation of what it will be used for. I love those who are publishing, music and art and in some cases fiction. I think as time goes on and our visibility grows we could see many front ends handling votes differently as well.

What about a "Rank My Date, or Song or Politician" site. For instance political choices - 10 candidates each has a post, you go through and assign them all a rank of support from 1-10 (on the UI) in the background the code calculates a vote value and donates rewards to the campaigns or Authors.

There are so many ways that people can benefit from the transfer of knowledge, entertainment, current events and more.

Many people are not huge fans of "Blogging", but we have the ability to do so much more. I wish we had more sourced citizin journalism. More songs, more books and more publishing.

We are more than social media, more than blogs,...

If BTC is the ability to transfer funds without third party intervention, Steem is the ability to publish without third-party intervention. We are early, but we still need to pick up the pace!

NewSteem is more than social media, it's publishing.

@whatsup

Sort:  

Couldn't have agreed more @whatsup, the main aim of cryptocurrencies is to remove from the equation the third parties that most of the time don't have our best interests in mind, Steem is among many things a self-publishing blockchain, without third parties, where you can share your knowledge, your art, your poems, you content with the world, and getting something out of it is a bonus, a good bonus!

Instead of a centralized company getting revenue from our content, our sharing, etc... we are the ones that get that revenue! We still have a long way to go, and we will have many issues along the way, not only in governance but also in terms of what type of content do we allow on the front ends, but we, as a community will surelly push past all those issues and live on...

Free, decentralized, content sharing to empower the world's population with knowledge! That's just one of the many things steem can and will be!

Whoot, really well said! I love how you worded that.

Are the semantics really that important?
To me thus far Steemit is a repository.
I figure that some historian a few centuries from now might be interested in the experiences I’ve had. Certainly few people are presently.
Plus it’s a great way to keep from using up all my cloud storage.

Call it blogging. Call it writing. Call it publishing. What does it matter?
Anyone who has spent any time here knows what it is.
And knows what the priorities are.

Well publishing implies 1st time available anywhere in the world. Whereas ‘blogging’ implies repetition. The word ‘blogging’ itself such an odd word. It doesn’t make any sense. “Hi I’m a blogger. Can’t talk now I’m blogging’ ?? Ugh~!

Writing has power and can wield influence if it is backed up by community consensus. And the word ‘blogging’ doesn’t do any justification for the near-magical power of words. Steemit always has top-notch quality articles offering glimpses into art, photography, blockchain, current events. And the crossover with D-tube is brilliant They have videos news, current events, gardening, crypto and more and more. Both platforms allow anyone to express themselves in a professional way. The comments are always intelligent and without the ‘slag comments’ found in other less quality-focused platforms.

!!The Steemit Digital Publishing Platform. Get Your Life's Work Funded and Raise $$$ to Continue Your Education!!

The semantics are important. Steem enables ALL p2p publishing such as VR, AR and Webapps. Check out https://GitHub.com/dluxio/dluxio/wiki to blow your mind.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Anyone who has spent time here.

^ lol... outsiders see blogging and think... eww blogging is lame.

Wouldn’t know about that. I can’t keep up with the ever changing trends and preferences of people. But I doubt that all outsiders, (outsiders. funny word that), would consider it lame.
Steemit is too many things to too many people to find a single word to encapsulate it’s entirety.

Agreed. In marketing semantics matter. When someone logs in not knowing what to expect and the site says... BLOG. That sets some expectations.

It wasn't that long ago I had to googlie on the interwebs about the word blog as it wasn't on my radar and I didn't know what it meant. Like many examples of urban slang that have come before it the term has, or will soon, lose its meaning or relevance as the thing it was designed to describe evolves into...Something other. Funny though, the word publish remains constant, has for a long time.

Posted using Partiko Android

You had me at Rick & morty!

Perhaps blogging is a nice soft way or terming it to get people involved. I didn’t fancy myself even as a blogger before I arrived here. Now, I am a full on publisher? Right on!

Blogging is the latest rage though. When I tell people I am a blogger, they sound all impressed. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

haha, I'm not a publisher either, but I am referring to Steem. The front ends could facilitate all different types of publishing... including blogging.

maybe something like 'content world' and just leave out the way until they are exploring

Blogging has a broad range application .. people have become familiar with the concept. If you told them you are a writer they would ask you what books you'd published. If you said you were a content publisher .. they would smile and wonder wtf you were talking about. They all describe the same action but different perceptions.

Agree Shadow, but referencing blog on the site, sets an expectation for users who don't already have an expectation.

Not sure that I agree @whatsup ... in the sense that there is such a diversity of purposes blogs are written on they have become something people understand as being pretty free flowing.

Using publishing platform would more likely to setup an expectation that they come here to publish books and maybe magazines.

I think the more effective approach would be if we actually had an entry portal for the steem ecosystem and sections for all the various ways it is being used. If every other entry point linked to the portal we'd have a great interconnected network for people to explore.

Hopefully that will come eventually.

I've always said I see SteemIt,Inc sunsetting the main blogging apparatus of the site and going to a strictly directory oriented site. Colorful tiles could lead people to their proper places - I.e. - Video & Gaming tile, blogging tile, building a sort of funnel like approach. We shall see.

Interesting thoughts. From my perspective, I've allways seen steem as 'self publishing' if I'm honest. Partly because all of my content in the beginning was ficton, poetry and travel posts. I wasn't really comfortable with the title blogging, because it's not what I was doing.

When I look at steem, there does seem to be a distinction between people blogging (talking about their lives) and people writing (producing a themed product/article). Nothing wrong with either, and one isn't better than the other. But as you've pointed out, steemit has never identified itself to the outside world as a publishing portal. It's always sold itself as a blogging platform, regardless of the fact there's quite a large amount of people producing creative writing, art and music on here.

I wonder what effect it would have if steemit.inc changed how they market the blockchain to reflect these facets of steem.

Yeah, there is nothing wrong with it, I just think publishing covers a broader area.

100% agree! Kinda funny because I was a blogger 12-15 years ago and had top 10 rankings all over google for keywords. I seen blogging died around 2008 and many stopped with all the algorithm changes. Facebook and “real” social media sites like FB became people’s so called “blogs” 😎

I've noticed many people say the word blog with a slur.. :) Post, drop a link, write a book, publish a song or report some news..

It's so much more than blogging.

Yes! When I first came on steem... I was like I’m goi g to use it like facebook but with long tail content 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll start describing it as "a place to publish your content" when I bring it up on my videos. Trying to drive traffic here from "Big Tech" sites.

Nice! Of course I hope you are incredibly successful

@whatsup,
So far we are blogging and not much competitive when comparing with other social media which is not providing incentives to the content providers as well! Something might be wrong or not well catch up yet. For me it's blogging, I think we should uae these side chain power to develop something more powerful than blogging.
!trdovoter

Cheers~

I am liking the $BAT tips from publishing on Publish0X.... https://www.publish0x.com/?a=BDbDqjxdl2

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @whatsup!
@whatsup got 6 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I thought about this when I was deciding to now be back for good. I told myself I am coming back to publish my work here for the community as I work on my skills as a scribe :)

oh, a scribe that is a great word. Considering a community.. Scribes would be a good one.

Yes it does. So I am working on becoming one ✍️

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice. But don't forget that steem also transfer funds and even faster than btc. And free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79