2 Years.. 10k Users with over 500 SP

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

In 2 & a half years we have only created about 10k users who hold more than 500 SP, that doesn't work well for a currency or for building a consensus system.

Sort:  

Some of the dead accounts hold quite a bit of SP; which actually makes it a bit confusing when you look at the accounts in a chart like that. About 10k is probably still an accurate estimate of accounts holding over 500 SP though.

I sometimes wonder if they will one day clear out the lost accounts. You know the ones that people opened, but lost their password before they got around to using it, so opened another. I wonder how many of those accounts there are.

Posted using Partiko Android

unlikely... lost steem. A bit like burning it I guess.

@whatsup,
I think something went wrong at the topic!

Cheers~

It sure did... lol.

How does that compare to Bitcoin, Ethereum and the 37 other cryptos higher than us in market cap?

Bitcoin has nearly 2 million addresses with $1,000+. They have had 9 years though, and have a different address paradigm where address reuse is discouraged.

This is Litecoin:

Dash:

Although I am aware of this... It is interesting to see it in black and white, and although other tokens have bad distribution also... The number of holders is concerning, even with the expected distribution problems.

If you compare it to traditional businesses, we have way way more small stakeholders (like $100 to $1000 stake) than most start ups at 2 years. Usually only employees with stock options have such small stake, and that tends to be a handful of people (with another handful of large VC investors).

We can only reasonably compare Steem to things that exist, the things it's intended to replace. We could imagine stake distributed to everyone in the world, but even if that were possible, would it be desirable?

The stake distribution problems I see are when people contribute genuinely to Steem, but fail to get anything in return. Voters may believe they add value, but are more interested in increasing their own stake rather than building the network. The ultimate distribution only matters to me in so far as people who contribute get a decent reward, encouraging further contribution.

I can mostly agree with that!

I wonder if we need to redefine what a minnow/dolphin/whale is considering the low number of people who have even reached "minnow" status based on the current standards.

Is a minnow someone with 100SP or more, and a Dolphin 1000 SP? Does any of it really matter?

The last question is easy. Yes it matters, because human nature makes us like to see rankings and have something to aspire to. Would more people with less than 500 SP more actively try to increase their stake in STEEM if the "steps" seemed more attainable?

After over a year, and several Steem purchases, I am still "only" halfway to being a dolphin. And I am ahead of the growth curve for a lot of people I know who joined around the same time.

If we can't make it easier to get to 500 or 5000 SP, maybe we lower the threshold for gaining "status" to give people a mental incentive to keep building.

Yeah, I wish that we had more levels and gamification also

Out of 1M users on steemit!! It only just 10k users who hold more than 500 SP?? that not good numbers at all but I’m happy I’m one of those users

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steemit is like rich gets richer and poor gets... Well not poorer, they stay where they are.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's actually sadly accurate at the moment. My SP is growing, but my upvote value remains the same. Sometimes it drops a bit more too.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's because its value is being reflected VS the price of BTC VS USD.

Your upvote value depends on steem price, when steem was at cents even votes of users having thousand of sp wasn't much :)

Posted using Partiko Android

True. It doesn't stop people feel like they're going nowhere though. I try to focus on the fact that SP is increasing, even if my upvote remains the same.

Posted using Partiko Android

Think about the fact that you're using a social media platform that's giving you something and not harvesting your data/privacy for profit rather than nothing at all.

I'm actually not much of a social media user at all normally, so it amazes me how few social media users are here, given that they can earn something.

I think they make gains... Just slowly.

True. They get gains at snail speed 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm one of the 500SP Steemians :) However, it's partially thanks to @enternamehere 's delegation, that helped me grow. I received 365SP for a few months and that was enough to motivate me to stick around and keep going. I'm sharing this in hopes to motivate those with more SP to delegate to a couple of their favorite minnows ^^ Every bit counts!

I think there are many who give up, I have a year here and I haven't reached that amount of SP, but I will not leave.

Hmmmmmmm, did you have a big delegation before? I remember your vote was much bigger than mine. I now have much more SP than you. Strange.

Posted using Partiko Android

mmm no, I think I've always had the same delegation(From a few months ago). You have advanced fast here, that's good, I've been stuck for the last few months.

But your vote was worth 0.12 O.O, wow, I didn't know that Steem's rewards had become so small compared to then. I guess I didn't notice because as it grew smaller, I grew bigger. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, at my best, my vote was higher than 0.20 and I had much less SP and no one had delegated me. The price of Steem was high in those months of October, November, December of last year, in January the decline began, with the fall of all cryptocurrencies.

That's the fondamental conflict with Steemit. 10k users for a currency is nothing. 10k users for social media is too many, where can I possibly find the time to interact with 9999 other users?

Probably this is why @ned is building a new interface to distribute the money to more :)

I want that interface to be ready naooooooo

Posted using Partiko Android

Only @ned can tell, when its going to be ready to be used :)

No, nao, want!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81