Good News! Downvoting is Already Increasing!

in #busy5 years ago

With the new Downvote Pool things are bound to get interesting after HF21.

In fact, I see several large accounts are already pre-emptively getting mad about the idea they might get downvoted for self voting.

I see that as a good thing, it means they are considering their strategy after the HF.

This is how we should view it and train it:

A post is open for reactions for 7 days.

Everyone in the community has the right and ability, if not the desire to check out your post and react with their SteemPower. They can upvote it because they think it holds value or downvote it if they think it is harmful for some reason. They can also just ignore it or not vote at all.

No one is removing anything, they are just expressing their opinion.

At the end of the seven days any rewards you have earned become yours and are transferred to your wallet where no one can touch it.

Most active Steemians will acknowledge there are lot of posts that do not create value, some are not rewarded and some are. If we want the community to curate, we have to consider changing how we react.

In my opinion this box should have been removed

image.png

The truth is that people can downvote for any reason including:

  • Opinions
  • Personal Battles
  • Trolling

I could keep making the list, the thing is people can downvote and they will. Some will do it to hurt their perceived enemies, make a point, hurt Steem, express their unhappiness, or sometimes for disagreement with rewards.

How we talk about and present downvoting matters, many keep saying it is bad for the platform. I think the downvote situation is a cultural reaction and we can change it with a consistent message.

Don't be rude when you downvote and remain calm when you are downvoted.

If you are a good user who produces good content and you get downvoted repeatedly for something personal talk to a witness, a stakeholder or someone about offsetting the downvotes.

Personally, I think there is going to be a huge backlash and a lot of downvote wars right after the Hardfork, how you react can make a difference.

Also, there will likely be huge amounts of DRAMA. dRAMA is ready and waiting.

drama_tiny.png

Remember though, you can create a drama over a downvote you do not have to.

*for all of you who are going to tell me how dumb it is to allow downvotes. I didn't make the hardfork I am just getting prepared.

Also it would be really cool for some people to get some benchmark data on daily downvotes and publish to the community whether that increases or decreases after the hardfork.

@whatsup

Sort:  

And here I thought the free downvotes were being added in to combat abuse like misuse of the rewards pool, fraud and plagiarism, trolling, spam; since abuse was running rampant and not much was being done about it.

You think it's a good idea to use downvotes for opinions, personal battles and trolling? So, rather than attempting to solve toxicity, you'll promote it? Rather than attempting to solve the issues with free downvotes, you think it's a good idea to create new problems with the free downvotes?

I think that's a terrible idea. I'd prefer to see people acting professionally and taking these votes seriously. I suppose that sounds like a stupid idea and I'm acting irrational.

I had to sit and watch "investors" act like children on the trending page for months, with their "flag war".

Much of this hardfork exists to encourage responsible behavior. It's designed to remove rewards from abusers and put them in the hands of users.

If the abusers are just going to pout and continue to fuck with the users, there's no point in hardforking the place. If drama, and being all giddy about drama, is what people want here, instead of actual curation, there's no point in hardforking the place.

I'm certain that 'I' in EIP stands for improvement. They can hardfork the blockchain but they can't hardfork your brains. If people really want to see improvements, they'll have to make improvements. It's not up to the damn code. That's just an excuse people use to act irresponsibly. Playing the blame game because they're too ashamed to admit they control themselves.

Anyway. Have a nice day.

I am not promoting it, I am saying it will happen and that is a huge difference.

Just offering my... what appears to be, two cents, so far.

You did say:

In my opinion this box should have been removed...

Whereas I think those are solid guidelines. People can use words if they want to troll or have personal battles and opinions.

Ah, okay... I misunderstood.

It's a good point. My issue with the box is it encouraging people to say things like..

I was downvoted for the wrong reasons. And as we both experienced lately what are we going to say about the idiots who downvote everyone to express their sad lives?

I was downvoted for the wrong reasons.

There are bad reasons to downvote. Just like there are bad reasons to post or complain or whatever. Just because someone can do something, doesn't mean it's right, or that you lose the right to complain.

Honestly downvote harassment is 100x worse than people complaining about it.

Steem is trying to do stakeholder governance, but having stake doesn't give you the right to be an ass, or undermine the company. Imagine if shareholders used their stake in a corporation to waste executive time, troll or otherwise undermine the company. Or as more commonly happens here try to pocket the company's budget. It would be unacceptable and potentially criminal.

With guidelines in place, it's much easier to pinpoint irresponsible behavior.

Even the plagiarists and art frauds I've caught and downvoted in the past would insist they've done nothing wrong, even when I could offer evidence. Much like when a shop owner catches a shoplifter, the thief always denies the existence of the KitKat bar in their front left pocket, even when there's video evidence.

It's easier to prove an idiot is acting idiotic, when there are guidelines.

I'm probably crazy for hoping folks could just act professionally. This place is viewed as a place of business by many who would prefer the entire operation to be successful. Sure, we can keep saying, "It's the wild west," and be stuck in an endless loop of history but I'd prefer to advance now into the industrial age and put all of this petty behavior in the past. Again, crazy.

Will you please stop making so much sense! How dare you come here with such rational thought and trying to make the place better with feedback. Honestly...[sarcasm in comment]

It was an accident!

I've always been an advocate for removing the box which discourages downvotes. Or perhaps they could add a box that discourages upvotes.

Posted using Partiko Android

a box that discourages upvotes

That's my account.

😂🧡

Posted using Partiko Android

@whatsup,
This idea might kill STEEMIT. Just note this with the date and time! Look at other social medias like FB and etc. They moderate things, they work on complaints instead of giving weapons to every guy to kill each other without cost. What we are trying here is this and this is truly bring chaos upon us!
I see there are some bully whales abuse the current flag as well!
So, what will happen when they got more AMMO?
Who will support small minnows?
Who will downvote those whales?
NADA, no one will look after those small ones and they will vanish in to thin air and whales will make more profits due to low SP and the daily reward distribution!
I hope people will come after me, just after I said I against this sh!t. Sorry we should moderate things, but we should not give permissions to every one to use a gun to kill people as they wish without a cost!
Definitely I will call
!dramatoken
when people start the drama! Sorry I am not upvoting this post as regularly! Coz I hate the idea of downvoting pool!
$trdo

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, You are successfuly trended the post that shared by @whatsup!
@whatsup got 6 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Token distribution bot developed by @ali-h

I was not for this HF, I figure once you lose the argument you should try to prepare people.

@whatsup,
Seems I made a mistake then! Where I missed that part :( Sorry @whatsup!

Cheers~

I have just had a spate of downvotes - from three particular accounts (which are actually one account) - in response to a one of my comments on a post from a witness in which said witness commented on the activity of a former witness. For obvious reasons, no name, no pack drill. My comment was factual and not personal and to the effect that I didn't appreciate being trapped into an email harvesting exercise under false pretenses. The upshot: I've been trolled and downvoted - and since that post, those accounts have been ramped up so their downvotes have power. On one of my posts, those three votes cancelled out the three votes I had received.

This is all a long way to saying that IMO a downvote option is not going to stop this behaviour. It may "liberate" noobs in that they can express a view without writing that view, but that's not helpful either. Again IMO a different view is neither good nor bad, but should be justified. Isn't that what engagement is about? And being adult and agreeing to differ is what we ought to be doing.

And for the third time, IMO, a downvoting button is not going to stop certain behaviour - like that of trolls and bullies.

Finally, these accounts have commented on some of my posts and comments when they have downvoted and I have elected not to rise to the bait.

my strategy is to check out peoples profile, account and post beforehand. if i see people donsistantly upvoting their own post with their own or alt accounts to a degree i consider unwarranted, i just dont vote them. if i see them doing it to farm votes by shitposting on alt accounts several times a day, they will get flagged. most people don't look at this. maybe they should.

I honestly have no idea what this will bring us... but I do feel cautiously optimistic that there could be a change for the better.

Mostly, I'm just going to sit back and pop some popcorn and watch the spectacle unfold. Without a doubt, there will be LOTS of people who end up being "upset" (if nothing else, because they tend to "get upset" more or less as a job!) and we'll probably see a fair share of rage quitting....

Things are how they are. In an ideal world my opinion is that you would be correct. However, I will always express my opinion against liberalizing downvotes. Human beings are, for the most part, emotional beings. Even if a downvote is meant positively, the reaction will be negative.

I looked at daily downvotes last week as I had an idea to post about the numbers, but I saw they were falling so I didn't bother.

Might have another go after the fork, and probably look to remove the 'cleaners' and some of the idiots (ahem coininstant) doing it for no solid reason whilst burning their VP into single digits.

Don't be rude when you downvote and remain calm when you are downvoted.

That would be grand :)

Wouldn't it. Wouldn't it be great if people didn't make a post everytime someone downvoted them? That would be neat.

It would be nice if posts/comments didn't appear, especially when the person has given 1000's of unwarranted DVs themselves. (Check out the replies in the top featured post)

I thought the downvote will not affect the earnings after HF21? 🤔 (clearly I never read any official announcement. 😅)

Not only will they still have an impact you will have 2.5 free downvotes. :) they will not impact your voting power!

Oh my, that's not helpful at all I think. I thought the free downvote meant free without impact to the rewards. Lol. We can all have a downvoting spree if that happens. Lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I'm expecting it! DRAMA tokens should do very well.

Hmmm... speaking of DRAMA, if I see a dramatic comment can I still tag dRama on it to get some DRAMA? 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

tag @whatsup instead... I'm more likely to see it.

!dramatoken

Here is one to get you started.

Oh cool. Thanks! More DRAMA. Haha. I think I have 3 now. 😅

Posted using Partiko Android


You have DRAMA!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

I still don't know what to think about it, I will have to see the results to make a final decision.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28