DPOS, 35 Whales and Burn-out

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

When I got here I didn't understand anything crypto. I knew it had something to do with digital cash, privacy, freedom and self-governing. Over time some of the alphabet soup started to make sense to me.

Many cryptocurrencies use inflation as a method of distribution and those acronyms are just the various ways that inflation is allocated.

Here are a few examples of how cryptocurrency inflation is handled.

POW, POS, DPOS

POW, Proof of Work - In currencies modeled after Bitcoin the Inflation is allocated to the miner that solves and signs the block.

POS, Proof of Stake - In cryptocurrencies, such as Steem in the beginning, the stakeholders decide who will receive the new tokens created from inflation.

DPOS, Delegated Proof of Stake - It just means Stakeholders can make the decision to delegate the responsibility of allocating new inflationary Steem to someone else. On Steem we do this using our votes. Each time we vote we are just allocating new Steem. Each of us controls exactly the percentage of Steem that we hold.

srake rewards.jpg

Right from the start coming from a world where skills and performance mattered, I couldn't understand how Stake was going to select the right people for the right jobs.

I do understand incentives though and it made sense to me that those with the most stake should have the most influence as they have the largest incentive to make good decisions. That sounds very logical and intelligent and it made sense to me.

This is what it looks like


credit for image @arcange This illustrates the number of people who hold what level of influence on Steem.


Image credit to @arcange

As you can clearly see our largest stakeholders a grand sum of 35 accounts can still make the vast majority of the decisions and due to their Investment being so much larger I fully agree it is their right to do so.

That does not mean they make good choices or do the right things. Motive and Ability are two very different things.

In most cases, (not all) our largest stakeholders are miners and cryptocurrency enthuseiests . They mined their Stake. From my interactions with them over the past three years they are intelligent, highly knowledgable people.

As far as I can tell nearly none of them have any experience in building websites, attracting and retaining users, Vision, Marketing, Understanding human motives, etc. These things are all well understood and have models. Adding Cryptocurrency doesn't change the things that work, it just gives you more options on how to give people incentives. Apparently, it hasn't occurred to any of them to consult or hire people who are good at these things.

I am completely confused by where we are headed. One day after announcing we are coming out of beta SteemIt, Inc reopened the debate of changing the math for better financial incentives (for our current stakeholders). I consider all of that INTERNAL marketing. While I hope it provides some closure one way or the other for our stakeholders it does nothing to further investment, front-ends, attracting and retaining users, etc.

Cryptocurrency is getting ready to see mainstream adoption the signs are everywhere. 2 billion people use social media applications daily. Yet most of our conversations and discussions make no sense to anyone who isn't already fully into crypto. We have no vision, no hype, and no momentum.

We do have Steem-Engine.com, and Freedomex and great things coming up. However, those things have no volume and very few people hold enough Steem to create any volume. Big businesses enter the arena they will have teams, teams that have web designers, product managers, marketing teams and the competition is going to get more intense.

I also have to express my disappointment in having both the DAO and the foundation launching as unfunded entities.

It's been my opinion that everyone here should use their skill set to help build the site. I figured engagement and interaction on the site were the best way to contribute. Now it feels less fun and more like work. The social experiment has moved to discord, twitter and other places where the people I interact with the most spend more time. So ironic.

Sometimes you have to say it... I have burnout and it could very well be impacting my view on the situation, this isn't financial advice or really anything else, I guess I just needed to get it off my chest.

OUR BLOCKCHAIN FUNCTIONS PERFECTLY. Our humans might be misdirected.

@whatsup

Sort:  

Great post and I'm convinced were finished. Nobody is promoting Steem, just all this token bullshit. In my opinion, when I first came her over a year ago, I thought the Steemit.com potentially with the rest of the community would be the Facebook, YouTube, Instagram etc, killer.... I was definitely wrong now and this is a losing battle due to the wealthier taking us thru a Centralized platform.... Can we save it or is it a Wrap?????
@Steemit can literally take over Facebook, @dtube could take over YouTube etc.......

!dramatoken

Posted using Partiko Android

We're only finished if everyone gives up and moves elsewhere. As long as people are building and doing great things, Steem will carry on. It might falter, it might have issues keeping up, but it won't be finished. Focus on building, focus on growing, and focus on the making the Steem economy better.

At some point, the hope is gone but I do understand what your saying.

I said this too, basically for 3 years.

Suddenly I wonder why I am putting more time and energy into this than those 35 whales. :)

Because if you believe in what you're doing, it doesn't matter what everyone else thinks.

Hell, I've carved out my niche here, made some awesome friends, and we're off doing our own thing without getting bogged down in the mire of blockchain politics.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's great. If it is bringing you pleasure and that pleasure is worth your time, I recommend keeping on with that.

I may find that again as well, who knows.

I hope you find that happiness, too. You seem like a decent enough person, even if you feel jaded by what has happened on here recently.

Posted using Partiko Android


You have DRAMA!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

@whatsup,
One day we wish to be at that Whales list! If we sold my STEEM at it's last peak, probably we could be there now!

Cheers~

I'm gonna offer a rather unpopular opinion here that may not go over well (but hey, maybe I'll get a bit of dRama for it! :) ), but I honestly think Steem would have been better off if Steemit, the front-end interface, went away and made people choose other platforms to access Steem on, whether it be via Busy, Partiko, eSteem, Steempeak, or something else. I think that far too many resources have been allocated to a site/application that is so woefully behind others in its class, that it is truly embarrassing. This hasn't improved over the past months either, as they split between the social side and the Steem wallet on Steemit only further lead to the site seeming disjointed and awkward to use. Because of this change, sites like Steempeak now hold a superior advantage over Steemit in terms of even basic features, such as unified wallet access, voting power control (for those under 500 SP), decent stats for activity, better blog post editing tools, drafts, snippets, and much more. The fact that Steemit declared they are "leaving beta" now is just embarrassing and shows how little the front-end crew understand about decent website creation, content management and creation, and usage statistics. Steemit is ultimately a drag on the Steem community as many others don't fully realize what they could get by switching to another user interface to access Steem, and Steemit has not made it clear that you can do this either, probably on purpose.

So here comes the TL;DR of my unpopular opinion... Steemit, the front-end user-interface for accessing the Steem network is out dated, under-featured, unattractive, disjointed, and an embarrassment for the Steem community to have representing it as the first place most people find Steem. For the Steem community to continue to grow, and the Steem network to be better developed and expanded, the front-end part of Steemit needs to be done away with, and in turn users seeking to access Steem need to be directed to the other applications for accessing it. After this, all resources possible need to be dedicated to launching SMT's to enable token creation natively on the network, as to bring Steem up to the current standards used by other, larger and more well-regarded blockchain networks. Taking these steps would be a massive improvement on how Steem operates, where its resources are allocated, and how the network can continue to grow in the future.

well hate to burst you little bubble ... but doing away with steemit.com would be hugely foolish.

you might not like the site that is sitting on it.. but the domain has history and search engine ranking and that gives it value

there still needs to be a front door to the platform... ugly is better than none. Although, I use steemit.com and really don't find it that big a deal or a problem.

If you've been watching the communications both on chain and on discord, you'd know that Steemit Inc has been putting their focus on the cost cutting they need to move forward. Now they are moving into thrive mode, they are planning upgrades to the site.

Adding Cryptocurrency doesn't change the things that work, it just gives you more options on how to give people incentives.

One of the things I "got yelled at for" in the early going was that I "dared" suggest that just because we are on the blockchain doesn't mean we are suddenly exempt from human nature.

There are really good reasons why developers generally don't run software enterprises... instead, they are locked in little windowless rooms where they do what they are best at — and typically LOVE doing — which is to create code that does cool stuff.

Then marketing and management "types" figure out how to tweak and present it all so it appeals to a large number of people, and then you become Microsoft, or Adobe, or Oracle or something...

The problem with having developers and blockchainiacs running the show is the psychological fallacy that the way use the system is even remotely similar to how the general public uses the web, or an app. Newsflash: Mrs. E.B. Fotheringham-Piddlewater, a housewife from Topeka, KS, doesn't care the slightest about "how brilliant" blockchains are... she just wants to know if it's cool and easy to share her county fair winning pie recipes with her friends.

Yes, I'm stereotyping, but it's just to make a point.

Now, here we're decentralized, so things are little different. That said... the people who could kick the next generation of Steem(it) into life are the almost 12,000 minnows and dolphins who mostly got where they are by using the system.

Go forth, and tell your friends about this. NOT that it's "just a place to make money," but that it's a multi-faceted and censorship resistant social content creation venue... for ALL those people who are tired of Facebook, twitter, Instagram, YouTube and LinkedIn shenanigans and limitations.

I also joked about how adopting cryptocurrency doesn't change human nature and I also found that pointing that out didn't go over very well. lol

Well here we are a handful of survivors of the 3 years. I don't regret anything, I loved the social experiment and I learned a ton, made some friends, etc. Recently I find I've been talking about it in the past tense without really ever making a conscious decision.

Well, I'm not quite in the past tense yet... but I am doing somewhat on a re-org on how I am going to be using this. This will include giving a lot more effort to my "alts", one for my artwork, one for my wife's non-profit organization... and they'll simply be one part of a broader social media mix.

Don't get me wrong, I still love blogging... but in another 45 days or so (when our store closes), I will simply not be able to afford spending time doing this.

The analogy I used to use a lot (about the Steemit "establishment") is that they built a Ferrari in their garage... but they are living in a small town in Alaska with no paved roads... and they keep fine tuning and rebuilding the engine... while belittling and ridiculing anyone who suggests we should call a transport company to get the wretched thing down somewhere with some ROADS.

OMG this is a great analogy for what is going on here! I might modify it by saying they built a Ferrari engine, but didn't bother making the body look nice, and haven't spent any time making sure driving it is actually a good experience. They just know it's fast and powerful as hell and keep tweaking it to make it even better in those areas while ignoring the fact that it's incredibly hard to drive.

I love the analogy! 100 percent just for that alone. :)

I don't code and I've never considered myself a blogger, so I just don't see the path forward yet. I'm not fully crossing it off my list, but I will just see what draws me. Or... Doesn't.

It's going to take some effort and an ethos that transcends personal greed I think...I could be wrong though. Probably not though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm hearing a lot of this sentiment going around and this is pretty nice compared to others who are straight up rage quitting. My honest opinion is that we have a long way to go and it's going to be a while before we can even think about anything that looks like mass adoption.(as in years) Although I think we'll see normal price volatility following the market for the most part which will be a fun ride.

We're still just building infrastructure and tools. These aren't the products for users, they're the tools for businesses to be able to build their businesses. A lot of the "exciting" products people are building are probably going to fail, which is normal for new industries. Once these things are out, lots of people will take their shot and most of them will fail, but we only really need one to succeed, and for the platform to be extremely resilient which looks like the direction we're going.

I honestly don't care much about all the economics conversations. I agree with you that it's an internal thing and I'd also say the vast majority of users don't care/know anything about it, so whatever on that. Anyway.

Just keep postiiiiiiing, just keep postiiiing 😊

Isn't it possible that if EOS adds a social layer on the June 1st announcement that much of this might be moot? Maybe I am too pessimistic?

Yeah, I am not sure that their approach is going to hold a lot more appeal.

Dan is good at Engineering, not people. :)

I guess time will tell, but I see it as a non-threat. In fact I think it is likely we get some of their rage quitters.

Wow! I would take that action!! I think Dan has the vision and the money to get it right. I may be wrong, but I think it sounds pretty good.

I'm just basing my opinion on his previous projects. He is good at an idea, but not good at understanding most people are emotion based not logically based. Large companies understand this.

@whatsup EOS needs to address their resource allocation with RAM and CPU before I'd have hope of a social network forming. Last I heard EOS was having bandwidth issues and I cannot see how 40k active users can live on that blockchain with such issues. Steem does not have these issues.

yeah... i would love to know how much running a full node for eos costs... if you are not a witness... should be impossible to pay for... steem with MIRA will be a lot cheaper...

Yeah, I think EOS and Dan talking about Steem is a win, as at this point they have more visibility.

I think their new social media product might appeal to some, it certainly doesn't sound like a Steem Killer. :) Let's hope they keep calling it that though.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

Internal marketing DING DING DING!!! Plus, these stakeholders don't necessarily have the skills to handle the growth here. Money doesn't correlate to talent or abilities. I'll add that the behavior of many, and their bid-bot "internal businesses," are greedy as all hell.

Well said.

Ahhh, thank you for speaking openly and practically here. The rah rah stuff (often fueled to get investor votes) feels like manipulation to keep people hanging on and buy/hold, but the best way to keep the right people around is to make them feel like they're not alone/crazy for having these rational thoughts. Sticking together/staying on board is easier when there are posts like these that speak the truth, not cheerleading fluff. Thanks for making the effort to be a voice of reason.

Haha. What if i told you i knew this post was coming when you made the "joke burnout post".

Im going to be honest with you. If you think you have overextended yourself and have invested too much into STEEM, simply powerdown.
Take your "shit" and put it into BTT, EOS, BTS whatever it might be...
And keep posting.... Who cares.

See theres a difference between me and people like you, LLfarms, Taraz..
You guys think that people are generally decent, interested in the common good, interesting in everyone benefiting, interested in sustained growth, interested in a successful future for them and for everyone... bla bla bla.
This is where disappointment comes from.

Me.. I see it a bit differently. lol

I believe that people are generally assholes and idiots and that they need to be saved from themselves.

Because i see it like that i can appreciate those that are not assholes and idiots and i can keep myself from burning out while not taking part of the exploitative and greedy behavior some are taking part in.

Isnt that amazing. You should try adopting this approach. It fixes everything:)

!dramatoken

I"ve got you justine!

I guess it also helps to not really do much, while pretending to be multiple accounts for optimal return as well. 🙂

For not caring much, you sure are opinionated on what other people do...

!dramatoken

Sorry, you don't have enough DRAMA.
You need 9.00000 DRAMA more for a chance to make it happen.
To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

Now that is embarrassing 😂 ... sheesh whatsup.. you don’t have multi account drama transfers!?!

Yes she does. Its called: "sending tokens from one account to another."
sick burn.

Yeah, that one really hurt dude.. not sure I’ll recover..

why do you have so much comment diarrhea that follows you around lol

Because people don’t like me, so they mention me, read all my posts, and need to tell me they don’t like me 😜

I really am a pain in the ass though, so it’s understandable. ❤️

What are you talking about?

Im opinionated on what other people do?

I have an opinion on what people do? Is that what you tried to say because ofc i do. I have an opinion on everything. Ask me if i think Real Madrid should buy Paul Pogba.
I have an opinion on that as well. haha.
Ask me if your choice of AI post topic surprised me. haha
Want to hear my opinion on that? rofl.

I care for people. People i like ill "stand up" for, people i dont care much for ill ignore and people i dont like ill call .......... Justine. 😘


Such drama, you've earned a DRAMA!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72