You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "A Great Lakes Initiative": Week 2 Report + Choosing Witnesses.

in #busy6 years ago

It is always good to help others begin to use our platform, as long as the effort is led by people of principle and vision. Foster and guard against a culture of limiting individuals' editiorial freedom, and avoid automatically upvoting every member regardless of quality. Good luck.

Sort:  

Cheers for the support @trumanity.

Foster and guard against a culture of limiting individuals' editiorial freedom.

Do you mean censorship? Coz I'm definitely against that! And as for your last point I totally agree. Its been really hard sometimes but yeah I'm learning to be the bad guy and to not let biases affect me. Turns out it's really hard curating.lol
Cheers for passing by :)

Man, I wasn't thinking direct and willful censorship, more a psychology of the crowd - people assess what is required to be rewarded and then act accordingly. It makes sense from a business point of view, but ideally - journalism, the arts, contention and debate, ought not to be swayed too heavily by business incentives - rather by strength of argument, aesthetics, and so on. I think it is an error to assume that the objectives and opinions of the crowd (by this I mean the powerful accounts in a collective) and the broader readership - the actual public who will make or break the platform, are in sync. People tend then to create content to please the goose that's laying their egg for them. This will eventually result in a downgrade of quality, though in the short term users will reap rewards. Something like a pyramid. But yes, active cnesorship can creep in too. Seeing these regional teams rise up is interesting and may be good, but one has to wonder how much of it is pyramid in nature. I avoid using tags that do not describe the content of my post, hence I never get into all this stuff.

I see what you mean and that's a valid point that I haven't thought enough about. Tho to be fair I think content dilution was bound to happen the very second we decided to blog for $(no matter how small).

On the other hand, one thing I've been thinking about a lot is what is and how do you determine good content and make it stick without it being another form of censorship. Also would the ones always on trending abide? This one is still too confusing for me.

But yeah I also see and sometimes wonder about certain movements with pyramid like structures and how they will affect us in the long run. Guess we'll just have to wait and see what happens from here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65