Two-time

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Stephanie was wearing an alluringly clad with a spaghetti strap, form-fitting, backless black number, paired with a hot pink stiletto heel.
She strutted into "Woks and Koi", a Chinese restaurant around 04:47 pm and took a seat at the right end, guided by a staff.

man-949058_1920.png
Source

Stephanie was to meet with Nathan, a perfect looking guy she had met MatchMe.com, a dating site her friend, Susan had signed her up for.
She had adopted the habit of coming before the stipulated time for a date, over the years, just so she could settle down and calm her nerves before her date arrived.
She waved her hand in the air, signaling a waiter, so she could get a glass of water as she waited.
She surveyed the environment. It was a cozy restaurant. Looking at some of the couples having dinner and exchanging loving looks, she had high hopes that the loving atmosphere would make her date go well. She has had her fair share of bad dates and would not want to relive the memories, especially not after buying such an expensive gown.

dinner-table-444434_1920.jpg
Source

Exactly 05:00 pm, the door opened and a man stepped in, looked at her direction and started making his way to her...
"Oh shit!"She exclaimed as she got a better picture of her date


"Renny, I really don't know what is wrong with you." Susan began and Stephanie knew right from the moment her friend opened her mouth where the conversation would end. Susan had been nagging her over this issue for quite a long time. She knew She meant well, but it was becoming too annoying.
"I mean, you are beautiful, smart, successful. Put yourself out there girl. You are getting older. You are already 29 ohs. Be there na. Your mates are getting married or are in a serious relationship" Susan continued.

Stephanie could not keep it in any longer, she gave into the urged and rolled her eyes, sighed heavily and shut down her system, after making sure she had saved the document.
"Sue. I really don't get your obsession with my love life. I don't have a boyfriend, kill me!!! I don't get the hype over marriage. Our society has made it seem as if being 29 and unmarried is wrong. I can't deal biko" Stephanie rushed out, almost flaring.

Susan was not buying what her friend was selling. Stephanie was a hopeless romantic, and deep down, she was yearning for a genuine man to love her. But Stephanie would never admit that fact.

"And wait o. Aunty Susan, last time I checked, you are as single as a Pringle. Single to stupor. Just like me. So why are you all up in my case" Stephanie continued?

"And that is where you got it, wrong love. I am in a loving relationship. Recent though. He's soooo cute, a freaking eye candy. Fit, smart and most importantly, he is rich" Susan retorted, throwing a wink after the last statement.

Stephanie wondered why her friend was yet to tell her about it and couldn't help voicing out her displeasure.
"And you are telling me about it now. Why?"

Susan went front and back about the whole thing, explaining how she just met him via MatchMe, an online dating forum and blah blah blah. Stephanie had stopped listening, until Susan made the last remark, "I think you should sign up" Susan said, ending her long sermon.

Standing up, shaking her head which made her bob braid bounce, and gesturing wildly, Stephanie replied
"Hell to the no! This is where I draw the line. I'm not that desperate na. Haba!!! See, I am not even listening to you talk about this anymore again biko"


"Come in", Rose, the lady who shared an office with Stephanie called out, after hearing the apt knock on the door.
"Flowers and chocolates for Miss Rose " The office messenger said after shutting the door.

Rose squealed, with her loud voice rushing over to where Jerry stood holding the package. She scanned the package and found a tiny note attached to it.

" Oh my God. Kevin is just the best."

"Awwwwwwn",
Stephanie who stayed seated just rolled her eyes, mimicking Rose quietly.

It was almost everyday, Rose's boyfriend, Kevin sent flowers, or ice cream, or chocolates, or just came down here himself to take Rose out for lunch.
It was becoming annoying and sickening watching them. It was probably the green eyed monster in Stephanie speaking, but she did not care.
"What does she even have that I don't? It's not as if she is even entirely fine, with her wide up and small down, making her look like a ..........." Stephanie's thought train was cut short when Rose bounced to her corner... To flaunt the gifts from her loving boyfriend. She was tired of this and had become suspicious that Rose did this every time to spite her, and yes, it worked every time.

"Susan, what was the name of that site you were talking about?" Stephanie asked with her eyes tightly shut. She had to swallow her pride and it was definitely a bitter pill.

She had gone to see Susan after the close of work. After a long laugh and teasing, which she expected already, She got her account opened with the help Susan and she left hoping for the best.


She checked her messages one more time. She had been receiving texts from some strange looking men since Tuesday and she was getting frustrated already
Ping!!!
She checked again found a message from a Nathan_S. "Well, the profile picture looks normal" She thought as she went to check out his profile.
Everything looked normal. Better than normal actually, he looked hot. Feeling giddy and filled with many possibilities, she went replied his greeting..

After few days of talking, Nathan had suggested that they met and she agreed after Stephanie had confirmed that he was real and most importantly single.
"I have a date!!!! With a hot looking guy" She shouted at the top of her voice as soon as Susan picked the call.
Susan, as usual, tried to pry, but she was not having any of that. It was time to pay back for Susan keeping her relationship a secret.


"I'm Nathan" He said stretching his hand for a handshake.
The prep she gave herself earlier seemed to fail her because she couldn't even form a coherent word. She had been turned into a stuttering mess.
"Relax, you don't need to nervous around me. I don't bite." He paused, gave her a panty dropping smile and continued with a wink "Unless you want me too"

That was it!!!

toilet-1587602_1920.jpg
Source

"I....... Want to use the ladies" She spat out grabbing her phones and almost running to the restroom.

"Susan. I freaking need you now!!! I could barely a word out. I'm a nervous wreck. Just come meet me at Woks and Koi. Come with your boyfriend or something to make it look less suspicious", She said hastily into the phone

"Are you having your attack now? Nate is at a business meeting. I can't come with him. But I'll come join you. Just calm down and go out there" Susan assured her.

Stephanie had always been a nervous wreck around extremely hot guys. She did not know what this condition was, but she knew the presence of Susan always calmed her down till she got comfortable.

Taking a deep breath, she went back to her table to find out that Nathan had taken the liberty to place their orders.
"You okay?" He asked.

"Perfect!" She replied giving an uneasy smile. "I'm sorry I did not tell you, but my friend is joining us" She let out, her voice wavering a little.

He gave her a knowing smile. "Cool"


"Hey girl" Susan said as she got seated

"Where is he?" She continued, confused when she did not see any guy.

"Restroom," Stephanie said, relieved to see her friend

"Oh!!! He is here." Stephanie said as she caught sight of him. "Susan, this is....."

"Hell No!!! Nate??!" Susan cut her off.


kaka-s.png

Where there is darkness, I'll shine the light.

Sort:  

Susan's boyfriend I guess............ lol
This days I am tempted to believe that ladies double date more than guys.

You know this story isn't funny when you remember that the story @tojukaka narrated is the reason for my heartbreaks and failed relationships.

You have been evolving lately,i almost cant recognize you anymore,welldone,keep the good work up,didnt know you are a relationship counsellor

I never knew you were such a good story teller.
This is really awesome.
I felt like I was reading those good old days novels.

Nice one bro. I actually need a clarification on something. I also think it would help others to learn. Is the actual word "double-date" or "two-time". Um, I mean the word we use to describe someone in more than one romantic relationship like the case above.

You really got me on this one. I couldn't take my eyes off till i finish reading. Nice story
Well-done sir

Hahahahaha Guys please chill out already. Nate was at a biz meeting and as you have read, he was doing good so far till Steph showed up.
But brother, whhyyyyyyy????
@tojukaka, big ups man

Geez! Caught in the act. What an unwanted coincidence, but why would Nate do that ? Men should learn to be faithful in a relationship, I really do not buy into the idea that men are naturally polygamous. Eventhough, this is fiction, it's really what is obtainable out there, to the ladies, regardless of the age please stay calm the right guy will come and keep working on yourself. Please don't end it here, I am curious about the aftermath, great write up and suspense.

OMG! See gbege! I knew it! I knew there was something up when I saw Nate at the end. In my mind I was like "Isn't this too much of a coincidence that both guys bear Nate? "

The drama that will follow later ehn. Chai!

I really feel relax reading such a sweet story @tojukaka nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51