Things You Could Die For (I Did Something Good)

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Most of us, humans, tend to dream big and hope even bigger. So many times I have heard (or stated for that matter) people saying that they would die for this or that reason.

During a theoretical conversation (that is full of overstatements) we pick the most honourable and glorious things to "die" for, such as our unconditional love for a beloved person (despite not doing much to show them our love on a daily basis), our ideas (that are usually completely shitty or useless for the majority), our love and dedication to our country (despite doing anything in our power to avoid paying taxes), our faith to "our" God (despite love being the only thing missing from our life) and so on and so forth.

I try reallyyyyy hard to avoid such "ambitious declarations" these days. To be fair with myself, I think the only person I would die for at this stage of my life is my son; and I am like 99,9999999% sure that I mean it when I say it.

However, I reckon that such overstatements can really excite or motivate you. As I was laying in bed burning, sweating and hating my own skin, trying to kick my non-functioning AC without breaking a leg (or two), I heard some kidos walking outside my window saying, "I would kill for a delicious ice cream right now."
14017-Delicious-Ice-Cream-Cone.png
Source
I don't know why, but I jumped like Spiderman from my bed and got out to see who said that so loud and clear. My curiosity was triggered from the kid's voice; he sounded like he really meant it.

"Would you really kill for an ice cream lil bro?" I got him off guard.
"Of course, not!" He replied surprised and possibly a little intimidated.
"Why say it then?" I wondered in a friendlier tone.
"Hmmmm! I dunno. Because we are broke and we won't be eating ice cream anytime soon maybe?" He said with a more courageous attitude.

I don't know why, but I felt the need to go inside my room and grab 10 Euros from my wallet. "Here! Catch!" I told him and threw him the money that I had squeezed in the shape of a golf ball.
"But why?" The kid couldn't believe it.
"For you and your friends to eat an ice cream each....and to cut the bullshit. Deal?" I smiled.
"Deal." Two of the three said with one voice.
"Malaka can you believe what just happened?Who's he? You know him?" I heard them saying as they were leaving.

I am not very confident that they will cut the bullshit and stop with the overstatements anytime soon (they are in the right age for making them anyways), but I am like 99,9999999% sure that I made the day of three kids who were craving for ice cream today.

And who knows? Maybe one day someone returns me the favour, no? Or then again, maybe I encouraged three kids to believe that talking shit and making overstatements will reward them in life? Ahhhhh, my "guilty" syndrome is about to kick in. I better go buy me some ice cream too...

Cheers!!!!!!!!

icecreamking.jpg
Source

Sort:  

Your gesture is very nice, I would have done the same. Now I'm craving for ice cream. :D

I can buy you one when I am in Brasov. You can bring your boyfriend too. I don't have "bad" intentions :)

I don't have a boyfriend, but I see that you have a girlfriend. You 'cheated' on me on your vacation in Mykonos. :(

You can bring your girlfriend too. But maybe I have "bad" intentions :)

Ahhhh the clash of "bad" intentions. But I clearly say that I was there with my ex. We broke up last August (or was it September?). So, I dated her b4 I know you...No cheating here :P lol

I say the statement "I am so hungry I could eat an entire cow" a few times a week and after reading this it got me thinking... I am hungry enough to eat an entire cow? Would I if given the chance? or is it just another overstatement?

but no I don't think it is an overstatement at all, I would absolutely eat an entire cow! haha

Great post! I hear people say "I would kill for that" or "I would die to have..." and I think it is also really ridiculous haha

I am sure you are "killing" yourself at the gym to get the superb physique you have ;)

looks delicious

It does!!!

INSPIRATIONAL POST LOVED IT HOPING TO SEE MORE
GUYSSS DO FOLLOW ME TO GET AMAMZING FOOD BENEFITS I AM A FOOD BLOGGER AND GET UNKNOWN FACTS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44