Does anyone know if Dtube still deletes videos after awhile?

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I am probably going to try and be more consistent with my video uploads and Dlive is kind of under performing in terms of payout. But Dtube pays pretty well if I do get an upvote from them. I am just afraid that my videos are going to be removed after awhile. Its literally the only thing keeping me from being super consistent with my video uploads right now.

Sort:  

Yes, DTube will still delete your content after a while because of using IPFS. DLive is underperforming for uploads because they are much more focused on streams at this point so there is almost no discoverability.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This puts me in a tough spot because I have not been streaming at all lately and been focused almost entirely on videos. Maybe what I will do is just continue uploading on both. But I am almost kind of having a tough time feeling like I should keep going with Dlive... It takes a lot of the fun away instantly when its not steemit based and there is zero chance of a random fat upvote. :/

DTube still deletes the videos after a while. However, I remember @onelovedtube saying that they have their own IPFS node to keep your video on the platform. I believe it's free but I think they work on donations. Check that out if you want to keep your videos there longer.

Donations to keep videos up for extended time sounds good. Honestly I just like the idea of IPFS in general so anything we can do to make something that is fair and profitable is worth a try.

This is the first I've heard of DTube deleting videos after a while. If they need space, I don't have any problem with them deleting my videos.

Its because IPFS is decentralized so its more costly to keep files on that kind of back end. If the video is not making money and is not being seen by anyone then it will likely be deleted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85