Steemians Negativity Bias: Everything Is The End Of The WorldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

image.png
Source

Have you ever noticed how a fair portion of us buy into the doom and gloom? I am not talking about Steemains only, per se, but the human race. We are conditioned to believe just because something did not go right in the past, it will continue that way.

It is interesting to see how this works with people on here. One thing about the Steem blockchain, it will teach us about human nature.

This week, the big debate is about Steemit Inc's stake. It started with them powering down which led to the immediate conclusion that either every wallet was insecure or Steemit Inc was cashing out. When we find out what the real reason was, it was not as bad as we concluded.

Of course, this sprung the should they have their stake taken or should they not? Should tokens that are ninjamined be allowed to remain in place? I wonder how people would feel about this is Steemit Inc was better at communicating and liked more by the community.

I also wonder what people would say if it was their stake at risk of being forked away.

Remember when Hard Fork 20 was the talk of the day? I recall many posting how that was going to be the end of Steem. The mantra was the larger accounts including Steemit Inc did not care about smaller accounts and they all would go away. Ironic that we have more accounts now with at least 1 SP than ever before and that number keeps growing.

How many "Steemit" killers came out over the last year or so? I cannot count them all. The end was always near. This blockchain was dying.

Yet here we are. Steem has it's share of thriving applications as shown on the DApp ranking sites. We are seeing a larger amount of people on here earning STEEM and powering up. At the same time, accounts are getting more powerful in terms of their stake across the board. Every level is seeing accounts moving higher.

I was laughed at when I posted how I felt that Steem is and was going to remain one of the leading blocckhains. To many, that idea is totally insane. There is no way this is possible.

One only needs to take a look at most of the Top 25 blockchains on Coinmarketcap to realize what I say is true. How many of them actually have stuff taking place on them? The reality is a lot of those chains are nothing more than hype.

Did you realize that Steem just got a second page on the State of the DApps

steem.png

This means we passed 50 lists (52 to be exact). There are also 10 Steem applications in the Top 20. Using my rudimentary math skills, that is 50% or half for those who do not like percentages.

I started writing mostly about the Steem blockchain back in October/November of 2017. Quite frankly, I saw the potential and what was taking place on here yet consistently read the negativity. Everything was awful according to many of the posters. At the time I started, I felt it absurd to hold that mindset.

Now, I think it completely insane.

Simply put, if we have this mindset, it is one of four things:

  • we are just negative and will always find something to gripe about

  • we really have no clue what is going on

  • we have an agenda

  • our expectations are out of whack

Many do not like reading this. Now bear in mind, I am not talking about those who are bringing up legitimate issues and working hard at them.

I will give you an example:

@abh12345 has been beating the curation drum for as long as I can remember. It is a topic that is worthy of analysis. Asher not only discusses it, he repeatedly takes action such as establishing leagues to help with that. He realizes all is not rosy and his posts reflect this.

We know there are issues on Steem where discussion is needed. Often, the reason why something is not longer a problem is because discussions took place and different action taken. It is a healthy part of our evolution as a blockchain.

Just think of your time on Steem. Go back 9 months and ponder what the "crisis of the moment" was. It was most likely something that is no longer an issue, or one that is not as big as it was before.

Steem is the epitome of volunterysm. Nobody is forcing anyone to be on here. We all show up on our own while choosing to remain or go. If one does not like it here, he or she is free to leave. In fact, I will be the first to wish you luck in all your endeavors and hope you find something to your liking.

To me, Steem is the blockchain of opportunity because I see the potential to change the lives of everyone who is on here at this time. When we look at the number of STEEM available, simply math shows how little growth is needed before it becomes a needed commodity on here. Since more STEEM cannot be created overnight, the only thing that can adjust is the market to try and pry it out of the hands of people who hold it. That means price appreciation.

Others do not see it that way and that is fine. Maybe I am the one who is walking around with my head up my arse about this. If that is the case, I know I am not alone since there are others who feel the same way I do. The difference is many of them are the ones writing the code that is making a difference.

A little over a year ago, I saw many commenting how it was not fair that there were so many larger accounts who could buy STEEM so cheap and how it was impossible to get a large stake since the price was so high. Fast forward a year later, what is the excuse now? STEEM has been under 50 cents for a couple months. Here is the opportunity to power up and change the stake one has.

Who is taking advantage of it? Certainly not the naysayers. Instead, it is the usual suspects who are on here on a daily basis promoting the benefits and bright future of Steem.

In the end, we will see who is correct.


If you found this article informative, please give an upvote and resteem.

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

i tell you want, hollywood can't write scripts like this, talk about drama. Entrepreneurship in action.... the good, bad, and ugly.

Plenty of drama, that's for sure.

Yes, great point. How many of us are glued to the screen?

"Drama"


You can’t handle the drama! Son we live in a world that has blockchians, and those blockchains have to be guarded by witnesses with resilience. Whose gonna do it, you? You daily blogger? I have a greater responsibility that you can possibly fathom. You weep for Ned and you curse the Haejin. You have the luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know, that Ned’s disappearance while tragic, probably saved lives; and my existence while grotesque, and incomprehensible, to you, saves lives. You don’t want the drama because deep down in places you don’t talk about at parties, you want me on that blockchain, you need me on that blockchain! We use words like honor, code, loyalty. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something, you use them as a punchline. I have neither the time, nor the inclination to explain myself, to a blogger who rises and sleeps, under the blanket of the immutability that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide them! I’d rather you just said ‘thank you’, and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a node and belittle yourself for witness votes. Either way, I don’t give a damn, what you think you are entitled to!

We are still in the very beginning of adoption on steemit. It takes time but we're moving towards critical mass and more people are going to start discovering the third-party sites that use steemit, like d tube or steam monsters

Posted using Partiko Android

I like your Always positive take on steemit. I have been reading it since 2017 and keep on reading it to keep me sane. All this negativity pushes people away, even believers like me. Many family and friends already give enough negetaivity because of the bear market they think crypto’s are doomed. It makes me feel that it isn’t the awareness of crypto’s that is the problem, it’s the traders that make the fiat value fluctuate heavily. There are so many good applications for crypto’s, if their values would stay stable. The applications would grow and that is when the risk averse mass dares to adopt it in everyday live.
Now I just hang on, not to make big bucks, but to tell my grandchildren: I saw it comming, I was there before the masses.

I see a great future ahead for steem and steemit. Actually I heard people talking negatively about this steem and steemit, but this does not moved me. I will continue blogging on steemit and will not be moved with what they might be

Its very nice that steem is in the position it is now. Semi survival mode and strong believers coming together with steeminc to make the blockchain stronger and better. The circumstances are not ideal, the delays are unfortunate, but we have the makings of strength and action coming out of frustration.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Greetings @taskmaster4450

I like this post quite a lot, I agree with you on many of the things you mention here, many times there is just some small change many are altered and think about the worst consequences of it, enjoy reading this post a lot there are very interesting points in what you say.

Enjoy your day, Piotr.

Hi. I'm taking an opportunity to buy. Last month I bought 600 steem and raising more money to buy 2000 more. I see the potential of this block chain. I know 2 k is not a big deal but if 10 k minnow do the same we will se the price of 10 USD per 1 SDB

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Nope, I'm pretty sure the world is ending.

Not only incredible to see the things we have overcome over the last year but also the communities and projects that have been built! The funding of @steemmonsters as well as the adoption of @actifit are encouraging examples of the progress here which should be the focus on how to replicate across the ecosystem!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31